GHOSTS OF CROATIA - PART I : Villa Rebar & The Catacombs

in #croatia8 years ago

Villa Rebar & The Catacombs

In the 1920s a hunting house was built in the foothills of mountain Medvednica.
10 years later, Zagreb city Coucil converted the house into an urban villa called "Vila Rebar".

The project was designed by Ivan Zemljak and it was also rebuilt during WWII. Around the villa, Ante Pavelić built a few bunkers and an underground shelter that connects everything though catacombs.

After WWII. the Villa served as a shelter for homeless children and a guesthouse for mountaineers and hunters.


photo: slenderman drawing inside the catacombs


photo: Vila Rebar during WWII

The first time I ever saw the villa with my own eyes was around 10 years ago. Ever since then I wanted to make a documentary or an article about the history of the villa and the catacombs.
Two days ago I was driving near by while helping my girlfriend make some photos for her colledge exam and we decided to visit the villa again.


photo: Villa Rebar today


photo: villa's gateway

The moment I stepped my foot inside the gate, I started noticing garbage, bottles, and moist. The marble stone which was once the floor is now barely visible. There is also an indication of fire in the past.


photo: inside Villa Rebar


photo: fire left it's mark


photo: inside Villa Rebar #2


photo: doorway to catacombs

There isn't much space inside and when I reached the entrance that's when it began to be interesting. Since I was there before, I knew the catacombs go aproximatly to a 100 meters through several tunnels, but this time I noticed something different...

There is a part of the Catacombs that was closed down with tons of concrete and stone and I've found two drilling holes, one was big enough to fit a cat but the problem is that there is so much debry inside that it would take probably months to fit a person.
Someone was trying to drill through the concrete to see what they sealed there and I don't blame them.

Inside the tunnels, the celing is low, there are bats flying inside and the halls are filled with sounds of sleeping mosquitos that started following my camera's light which was not a very nice thing considering their sheer numbers.

What is next for Vila Rebar? Will it lie in it's post apocaliptic looking grave for eternity, or will some rich corrupted politican buy it and turn it into an exclusive hotel?

Human curiosty is one of my many weaknesses and I am naturally drawn to and motivated to visit more places like this.

Best Regards,
Vermillion666

Sort:  

Thanks for the upload. Your description of the Catacombs is pretty amazing. At times, I felt like I was exploring them with you! - great post

Awesome pictures! Would love to see you explore more creepy places like this

I would be happy to explore and document more.

The Catacombs

Amazing history how a house led to a bunker that served several purposes during its existence. I like to extrapolate and imagine from the pictures what the unknown history of these catacombs might have been. As you mentioned in your articles someone had tried to drill into the catacomb to see what was sealed there. So obviously even the local people wanted to know. Quite often those with actual original knowledge of such structures move and or die off. And then what remains is often speculation that is unverified.

I have always associated dark "secret" places with something sinister. Have you ever come across literature that suggests bars in buildings are meant to keep the outside world out instead of the inside inhabitants in? Hopefully there is a bright future ahead for Vila Rebar that includes economic development with the mystery of not knowing everything past.

After all, some secrets are best kept that way --Secret. Do I hear some creepy piano music in the background? Hey I enjoyed your article. Please post similar articles as you get the time. Your article is entertaining and informative. Just my thoughts, Ron.

Ron, thank you for this nice long reply! I am new to writing articles but expirienced in visiting and documenting places like this. Fortunately I own an older but solid DSLR and it has helped me film many videos and photos during the last 6 years..
Comments like this one keep me motivated to visit more hunted/deserted places.I especially like post-apocalyptic looking places. And yes there is a certain dark feeling in some of these places especially the ones connected to ghost stories that went to papers several times. I've got a couple of those in a several hour driving distance that I want to visit and document soon.
Cheers Ron!

ghosts are fascinating subjects ! great pictures
did you see our ghost pictures in goodrich castle check out our blog

Nice pic..
Photo armature

great post, very interesting!

I live across the street from a spooky old house, and really loved the vivid shots you posted. Thanks!

Hi, I realy like your article about Villa Rebar. I find such places very interesting and I've never heard about this one. Thank you for sharing this interesting information.

I really like documentaries like these. Keep going!

Interesting ! Balkane, Balkane...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59056.49
ETH 2597.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44