Homemade Vegan Doughnuts with Vanilla Beet Glaze | Baked & Oil Free | VIDEO RECIPE

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Homemade Vegan Doughnuts are my favorite. This homemade treat will make your next breakfast or brunch or even for dessert so much better. This is a great base recipe for any of your favorite flavors of baked doughnuts. I also used a natural food coloring of beet powder to make this lovely maroon color.

This recipe uses my recipe for vegan sprinkles. It is the perfect recipe for decorating cookies and cakes. If you want to learn more how to make Vegan Royal Icing, click here: vegan sprinkles

If you have recipe you would like to see me make, let me know in the comments below. Let me know of what you think of this recipe on Instagram or Twitter (@vegetarianbaker).

Print This Delicious Recipe

Subscribe To My YouTube

Don't Forget To Follow, Upvote, & Resteem! More recipes coming everyday.

Ingredients:

For The Doughnuts:
All Purpose Flour | 2 Cups
Coconut Sugar | 3/4 Cup
Baking Powder | 3/4 teaspoon
Baking Soda | 3/4 teaspoon
Sea Salt | 1/4 teaspoon
Unsweetened Applesauce | 1/4 Cup
Vanilla Extract | 2 teaspoons
Organic Apple Cider Vinegar | 2 teaspoons
Almond Milk | 1 Cup + 1/4 Cup

For The Icing:
Powdered Sugar | 1 Cup
Beet Powder | 1/2 teaspoon
Almond Milk | 1 Tablespoon
Vanilla Extract | 1 teaspoon
Sea Salt | 1/4 teaspoon
Vegan Sprinkles | For Garnish

Directions:

For The Doughnuts:

  1. Preheat oven to 350*F and grease doughnut baking pan.
  2. Shift flour, coconut sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and sea salt in a medium sized bowl. Set aside.
  3. In separate bowl, whisk applesauce, apple cider vinegar, vanilla, and 1 cup of almond milk.
  4. Pour liquid mixture into the dry ingredients. Mix until just combined. If it does look dry, add the additional 1/4 cup of almond milk.
  5. Pipe batter into the greased doughnut baking sheet until 3/4 filled. Baked for 10-12 minutes until golden brown.
  6. Remove from oven and allow to cool completely before icing.

For The Icing:

  1. Whisk all of the ingredients until combined.
  2. Dip the cooled doughnuts into the glaze and shake off any excess glaze. Add your vegan sprinkles.
  3. Enjoy!

Print This Delicious Recipe


Follow, Upvote, & Resteem!

@vegetarianbaker

Sort:  

vegan + baked + oil free = Sofia wants some, Sofia needs some ♥

It really is quite delicious. There is still some sugar in it, but just do some squats to burn that off. I love using coconut sugar. :) i've been on a kick recently. Using it in all of my baked goods.

I'm not one of those with a sugar phobia and I'm sure I'll survive it ha ha ♥
My favourite healthy sweetener is date syrup - you can make it or even make some yourself :)

I love date syrup and I'm actually working on a video recipe soon for it. I love agave as my alternative.

Yay, lokking forward to that recipe video :)

Hopefully I can film it in july. I have a recipe for vegan caramel dip that uses dates. I'll post that on here sometime this week.

Yum, can't wait - thanks so much! Have a great week ♥

Thanks you too. Hopefully you have a successful week on Steem :)

Looks so good, you can make these for me anytime :-)

They are delicious. I loved doughnuts. These are a little bit healthy than traditional doughnuts too :)

I haven't tried vegan doughnuts before, but this seems like a must try for me. Many thanks for sharing the recipe.

It is a must try. So good.

What's your favorite type of doughnut?

No doubt it is a must try. My favourite is the old fashioned doughnut 🤓

Classic. :) I love a nice yeast doughnut. I'm working on vegan version of that soon as well. :)

Awesome. I look forward to it.

These donuts ( doughnuts) look awesome. I am so trying this!!

Let me know how they turn out. You won't be disappointed. Maybe even take a photoshoot for them haha :)

I know that most people don't have beet powder, You can juice or blend a beet to get the natural food coloring or just use regular food colorings ;)

I love oil free and dye free recipes. I recently made a similar donut with dates instead of coconut sugar and tend to use beets in my red velvet cake instead of dye. I've never used it in icing though, so thanks for the idea.

You are very welcome. I've never made a vegan red velvet cake, but on my website I have a recipe for Vegan Red Velvet Cinnamon Rolls that I used beets in. :) Ill try to post it on Steem soon . ;)

Sounds awesome!

These are quite something wow!

it's almost breathtaking haha :) I love doughnuts.

Oh my. Beet glaze...not that is creativity at its best. I have never heard of beet powder. I will have to look that one up. A donut is a donut, is a donut....is good! Amazing pics.

Thanks. I can only find beet powder online, but I assume you could also just use a splash of fresh beet juice to get the same results. :)

Will have to check out the beet powder. I can think of a couple uses. My wheels are turning!

You can use Matcha tea powder to make green as well. :)

Will have to check out that one too. Thanks for the info. Greatly appreciated.

you are very welcome.

Nice recipe, thanks for sharing!

You are very welcome. I'm glad you enjoyed it. What's your favorite type of doughnut?

I'd say, the ones with cream filling inside ;)

OOOH. those are delicious. I love maple ones. :)

What a treat! So glad to be following you🍩
Happy Monday!

Awww thanks for you support. It's people like you that keeps me on this platform.

You are welcome! Great work!🌱

Wow - I think these might be the most nutritional donuts I've ever come across @vegetarianbaker!!! I also have used beets in place of artificial food colouring... it's such an intense colour, I love it. I think your recipes are great and really enjoy your blog now I've seen lots of it recently!

YAY! Thanks. I love natural food colorings. I'm trying to find new ones. I love using Matcha for green as well.

They are healthier, but they do still have a lot of sugar in the icing. But I actually really like these doughnuts plain. :)

I prefer things without icing too! Well, you know by now I don't eat sugar :-) I like using wheatgrass powder for green colouring. I've tried turmeric for yellow but that does NOT taste so good if it's something sweet you're trying to colour hahaha!

i agree. Turmeric has so much flavor and not necessarily great for icings or desserts.

I've seen blue matcha and flower that creates blue. I want to play around with it.

It's a nifty, crafty thing to do to make your own dyes, but its fun. I'll be doing a whole video on at least ROY G BIV colors.

That sounds great, I can't wait to see it! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63706.21
ETH 3073.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76