The Ethereal Retirement

in #writing7 years ago

 

A flame flickers in unison with the blissful gleam in my eyes and then vitalizes to a steady intensity. I pour abundant heaps of sugar as it heats, the lush aroma glides through the air and then wafts up, and the blend densens into a dark luscious mixture.

The home theater in the background booms with a symphonious penetrating trumpet, the trumpet resonates in harmony with Kendrick’s verse.

The floating cream is skimmed off and the tea trickles down in my cup. I gently place my hand on the kitchen slab and lean without recline, raising the cup to my lips. The song ends on a beautous note as the moreish taste of the first sip seeps down slowly through my tongue.

 It is about 3 in the afternoon and a small public quarter basks in the sun. As the obtrusive rays of the sun sift through the drapes, the brightness subdues. A profound darkness, partially interrupted by the kitchen lighting, envelopes the surroundings.

As I put the cup down, I heave a big sigh of relief that fills my lungs with a deep-seated rapturous tranquility, pretty much the same way darkness fills the surrounding​, dissolving my tribulations along.For some reason, I have always loved the darkness. Maybe because of nyctophilia, I can’t say with certainty. People say that darkness has no colour, but for me it is painted in blissful appeasing quietude. It just feels like an​ impregnable shelter, a beatific cloistered retreat.

The television is a secret pathway to a different world, the one where the semblance of dissonance between loved ones​ dies down only to breed more harmony.Modern family is one such show. Their humour piques, stories rivet and those relationships gladens. Switch the right channel and it will surprise you with some very tasteful music.When you don’t get television or Netflix for about two years, those travel shows, music and sitcoms come alive in the most exulting carnival.

Maybe for the serene placidness in place of being discountenanced​ by the everyday mundane conversations, or for my many troubles drowning in voiceless echoes​, or maybe just for a piece of mind, loneliness I guess can be oddly comforting.

Sort:  

Congratulations @thenoussanctum! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99