Sold My Stuff To Travel The World - Life Through My Lens #8

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

This was the first ever travel video I made for my channel.

travelquote.jpg

After selling all my stuff and quitting my job, I decided to go backpacking for 9 months across the world. It was the best decision I ever made.

I decided to film a few seconds of each day and put it together into a video, with a series of clicks to show each of the iconic places I went to. Since then, that video has gone on to over 100,000 views and launched my YouTube channel!

Check it out here:

Here are the answers to some of the questions I received:

How much did you save?
After selling all my stuff, and paying off my overdraft and credit cards, I had roughly £6000 ($9000US). This isn’t a massive amount of money to travel on for a year, but if you budget right then it’s still more than enough.

What was your budget?
On average I spent 20-25 USD a day. This worked out as more in certain places (e.g. Europe, Dubai) and less in others (e.g. India, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Indonesia). I stayed in hostels and dorms everywhere to keep the costs down and ate mostly local street food or cooked myself. I didn’t do any organized tours and prioritized the tourist attractions I wanted to pay for. I travelled slowly and learned to barter – everything is negotiable.

What countries did you visit?
The countries I went to in the past year, in order, are: Spain, France, Italy, Austria, Slovenia, Croatia, Slovakia, Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria, Turkey, UAE, India, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Malaysia, and Indonesia. I’m currently in Australia on a working holiday visa saving up for the next leg of my trip.

What did you edit with and what were the cameras?
I used Premiere Pro CC to edit the video and it was all filmed on a GoPro 3 Black and Sony Handycam.

How has this trip changed you?
One of the ways in which this trip has changed my outlook is that I want to lead a location independent life, at least for the next few years. This means I just want to continue traveling the World, working off my laptop and picking up extra money where I can. What I really want to do is show people first-hand how possible it is to travel the world on a budget. Before you do it, it seems like an impossible task and often people don’t believe that it is viable on a budget of 20-25USD a day. That’s what I want to make my life about and use my channel for. UPDATE - This is what I do now!

Thanks for watching!

If you enjoyed this post then please remember to follow me.

Popular posts:
How I Became a Full-Time Travel Vlogger in Under a Year
Hi I'm Jord and I Get Paid to Travel the World (and you can too..)

You can also find me on:
YouTube - Instagram - Twitter - Facebook - Blog

Sort:  

Hello & Cheers!! I'm a content detection and information bot. You are receiving this reply because a short link or links have been detected in your post/comment. The purpose of this message is to inform your readers and yourself about the use of and dangers of short links.

To the readers of the post: Short links are provided by url shortening services. The short links they provide can be useful in some cases. Generally their use is benign. But as with all useful tools there are dangers. Short links can be used to hide all sorts of things. Quite frequently they are used to hide referral links for instance. While not dangerous this can be deceptive. They can also be used to hide dangerous links such as links to phishing sites, sites loaded with malware, scam sites, etc. You should always be extremely cautious before clicking on one. If you don't know and trust the poster don't click. Even if you do you should still be cautious and wary of any site you are sent to. It's always better to visit the site directly and not through a short link.

To the author of the post: While short links may be useful on some sites they are not needed on steemit. You can use markdown to format your links such as this link to steemit. It's as simple as [steemit](https://steemit.com) Unlike short links this allows the reader to see where they are going by simply hovering over the link before they click on it.

This message was created by a bot. It is part of the ongoing fight against spam and phishing attacks on steemit. If you did not use short links in your post and feel you have received this message in error you can contact @fubar-bdhr on discord or @fubar.bdhr on steemit chat to report the issue.

A quick question, which camera do you use for your videos and photos? A GoPro or sthg like that?

It's in the post :)
I used Premiere Pro CC to edit the video and it was all filmed on a GoPro 3 Black and Sony Handycam.

Damn! My bad! :) Consider me as a new fan though :)

Awesome! We were not designed to stay in one place. Safe travels and all the best, @thelifeofjord.

I agree completely! Thanks for the support.

I am always highly impressed of people your kind who had the courage to quit their job and start a whole new life! Deep respect for that!

This is what life is all about. Ive lived in Thailand teaching english and now in the UK working as a live in carer while travelling Europe on my weeks off. I hope to keep travelling like this for many years to come.

Nice trip man! Very nice touch with the fingers snapping in the video!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83