My first month on Steem: From Zero to Hero

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

According to @masteryoda 's leaderboards i'm somewhere in the top 30 of every chart.

According to Steemd.com distribution i'm a Hero. I belong to the 0.86% of all users with that status, in just one month? How did this happen? Could this be correct? Let me review my first month on Steemit to see how this happened.

chart

How it all started

I created my account about 3 months ago, but got to busy mining and developing Ethereum tools to focus on Steem. A couple of days before the 4th of July payout, i suddenly remembered steem and decided to take a closer look. I really didn't get much about how it worked so i just assumed it was some kind of blog. I've made about 6 posts with very low value added for this platform.

When posting an article about an XSS security issue, all the sudden i've gained 500 SBD! I was a bit surprised, still not getting the point of steemit, it's rewards and curation system. I just got 500 SBD for writing about something? Really? Sweet! This motivated me to read the entire whitepaper from front to back, getting involved in Steem, and wanting to belong to this amazing concept.

I've decided to write an introduction, but being short on time, i've splitted in parts. My initial tought was to make part 1, and the week after the next part. However, upvotes started to flood in, and reading all the comments encouraged me to stay put at my keyboad and finish the story. By the time the post was finished, i remember leaving the house, going out, sleeping, waking up, coffee, and back to work.

Spilled coffee and almost choking on it.

When i looked at my account it was the #1 trending post with over 5k in rewards! I spilled most of my coffee on my keyboard and had to look twice. 5000$ in rewards and still ongoing! People loved my story and started communicating with my, trough comments or chat. This was the community feeling i was hoping to find.

I began blogging and posting on a daily base, most often just the toughts running trough my mind at that time.
Having a warm feeling, i've decided to put some time and energy in this platform and develop some tools.

Once again, posts about it began trending, gaining upvotes and people really interacted with me. I've reached the #5 trending section multiple times. Steemit's known developers contacted me, and now i feel like being part of this little ecosystem. My days are filled with chatting with other users, keep on developing, sharing ideas and advices, building partnerships, simply put contributing to the future of Steemit.

Summary

At this time i have about 240 followers and 5.2k SP on my account. So my first month on Steemit has been a rollercoaster, but i could round it up by saying

"A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step"

Keep on steeming guys, it's each and every one of you that makes this platform possible.

Sort:  

You are one of 614 of us heroes. :)

I am still waiting for your book ;)
And, yes, hard work pays off. I remember you found some steemit security issues, much apreciated

Great job, keep it up!

Great inspirational post!
You just gained another follower :-)

Steem on,
Mike

Great job man! Congratulations!

CHEERS! And thanks for the inspiration - motivation and encouragement. Not only does every steemer on here have a lot to offer... We also have plenty to learn. Thanks @steve-walschot

Thanks for sharing your lessons learned. Keep up the great work.

Nice to have you! It motivates so much to know that great personalities are part of the same "family"...

Very inspiring! Ive been using the platform for a month now and havent really earned much but im not giving up just yet. I will continue to be active and hope to achieve what you have done. Thank you for serving as an inspiration to all the minnows out there. GODBLESS

Thanks for your story! I am still in the beginning phase of my Steemit Journey (Day 3) and reading accounts such as yours helps me to see the true potential to be had here. Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68288.30
ETH 2649.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69