Facebook Is Banning Women for Calling Men ‘Scum’

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

facebook-reddit-1.jpg
23.png

How I love SteemIt and decentralized blockchain apps, let me count the ways...


number one)

When huge social network companies ban/delete for controversial reasons I now have to chuckle. How long will people tolerate it? Now I'm not taking any political stand, either way, on this story. I'm simply commenting.
I have come to appreciate how SteemIt deals with "administration" Bravo!

so this is what happened on facebook...


Women had accounts banned from Facebook for responding to male trolls with sentences like ‘men are trash,’ in part because the company classifies white men as a protected group" When comic Marcia Belsky sarcastically replied “men are scum” to a friend’s Facebook post back in October, she never anticipated being banned from the platform for 30 days. That was exactly what happened.
Belsky was shocked at the severity of the punishment considering her relatively innocuous comment, and immediately spoke to her fellow female friends about the ordeal. They could relate. In the wake of the #MeToo movement, countless women have taken to Facebook to express their frustration and disappointment with men and have been promptly shut down or silenced, banned from the platform for periods ranging from one to seven days.


"A Facebook spokesperson clarified that this is because all genders, races, and religions are all protected characteristics under Facebook’s current policy. However, it’s clear that even with 7,000 Facebook content moderators, things slip through the cracks."

the full story here


Now just because I chickened out and decided not to take a position on this story doesn't mean you have to. Please comment. I'd love to see a debate over this issue!

For me, I thank the heavens I've discovered blockchain and SteemIt! I'm not just talking out of my hat here, got a great introduction to the power of the SteemIt community last night...

the @monitorcap story

Now I don't have the SteemIt experience yet to know exactly the extent of what @monitorcap was doing, but I did that see people wanted something done! And without a single admin or and official "terms of use" violation... the SteemIt community ended it.

I do like when big companies are removed from these processes, decentralization FTW! Let freedom of expression rule the day

Sort:  

I don't do Facebook and I never will just for the awful things I've heard and the banning of free speech.
I too like that steemit is community monitored, everything has a record.

I'm with you. I refuse to turn over the details of my life to Facebook for them to do with as they please. Then they want to tell me how to conduct myself? pfft

7,000 Facebook content moderators,
all of whom are anti-conservative and pro-leftist./

7,000 people who would be of better use creating SteemIt content for revenue! Then "moderating" in a free system, by owning a stake.

In my opinion :)

Facebook is dead

Maybe like a fish flopping around after being beached

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by campervanelvis from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @sass to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I personally feel that people say a lot of things that don't upbuild their fellow humans or the society they live in on social media because they feel they have to impress their followers or be part of the incrowd. In real life people suffer the repercussions of their utterances and the internet and social media should be part of real life.

I'm still new but SteemIt appears to motivate people to "do better" than whats found everywhere else. Jury is still out for me, but I'm open minded about it for sure :)

when you flag my post with your two accounts your hurting the platform - just letting you know

have a nice day

@steemcleaners

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64401.36
ETH 2627.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83