Personal: My floating experience and magical encounter with Hip Hop Gods

in #inspiration7 years ago (edited)

This must have been one of my most random blog posts titles ever. As I’m writing this I’m scratching the back of my head. These past weeks have been so freaking incredible crazy. I have experienced so many synchronicities that all I can do is surrender, relax and enjoy the ride with a big smile on my face.

Tripping on life

So my best friend and I went to Amsterdam for her birthday celebration on a Tuesday evening. I wanted to surprise her with a floating experience. Floating is known as Floatation-Rest (restricted environmental stimulation technique) and is backed by research. I will totally jump into this subject later this blog post.

We arrived at sunny vibrant lively Amsterdam around 18.00 pm so we decided to grab some dinner first since our stomachs were howling. “So I haven’t really looked at good restaurants on the internet, let’s walk towards Haarlemmerstraat and let’s see what’s up.” > Haarlemmerstraat is one of my favorite streets in Amsterdam because of the different cafe’s and restaurants they have in that area. So we started walking around and after a couple of minutes, I was triggered because I saw a bucket of french fries at Munchies. < It’s all in the name right, lol.

Insane in the membrane

We looked at the menu to see if there was a vegan option :’). It can be such a pain in the ass when you enter a burger restaurant duh and they don’t have any vegan options but luckily I got blessed with a seaweed burger which made it a lot easier for me. We sat down and I said: “Sanne (aka the bestie) this is the perfect spot right..”

So okay let’s continue – We sat down and I looked to the left because I could just feel there was some sort of powerful presence in the room. and BOOM I just couldn’t believe what my eyes were seeing. “Sanne this is not happening, right? This is not true? IS it? These guys are freaking Cypress Hill – Hip-hop Gods from the nineties. And we are sitting 4 meters next to them. Yes this is INSANE. This is life..”

20799384_1663415790336515_808466125809110434_n.jpg

“I’m sorry. Can I have a picture with you guys, otherwise I will regret this for the rest of my life. And regret is not a good thing.” – Yes of course. Go and stand in the middle.” This all happened in a flash and I still cannot believe it all happened hahah.

630fbe15f5538ee3d482f04f647697e071fe56276ebe54d3a36ce2e4bc93a209.jpg

EY ESE, Don’t you know i’m loco?! I AM. I AM. I’m loco because I still believe magic exists because I always ask myself to let my inner child roam free. To dance with life. To surrender and play in the present moment.

Floating through life

After this encounter, I was already floating through the streets of Amsterdam. My bliss was making me super high and we were not even floating yet. Not really an ideal state of being since I had to be relaxed for the next experience.

We entered Koan Float (Herengracht 321) in the Negen Straatjes. Had to go into zen modus, took some deep breaths and focused on the whole floating thing. The energy in the room was really beautiful so it made us feel safe. The receptionist brought us to the floating tanks and explained how it all works.

Benefits

Floatation therapy has a significant impact on your mood. Research consistently demonstrates that your levels of dopamine and endorphins are stimulated once you reach a deep meditative state during a session. Even if you are not really comfortable with meditation; A floating session can really help you reach a calm and peaceful state because it’s easy for your body to relax. Floating also expands awareness and increases creativity. It diminishes depression, anxiety, and fear. (sorry I totally forgot to insert a photo from the tank right here)

giphy (1).gif

“Surrender, Surrender, Surrender”

I’m stepping into the floating tank and feel the warm salty water against my body. The first thoughts I have:

“Oh the temperature is nice”

“Oh, I like the music.”

“Okay let’s not think about anything for a while.”

“Hey maybe this felt the same way as floating in my mother’s womb”

“Oh, we could go have some tea at Sky bar later this evening.”

“Oh, hahah WTF are you even talking about, What about right NOW.”

“Oh shit 45 minutes of nothingness. That’s like a long time.”

“Oh cool a button for the light.” Switches off the light. to float in total darkness

“Oh this is sick, it’s just uhhm like I’m nothing and everything. And darkness is scary.”

SURRENDER. SURRENDER

Smiles into infinity. “Wow, I’m held by the darkness right now.”

Moves legs from left to right. “Ha this is funny..”

Lifts up arms “Wow this is heavy”

SURRENDER. SURRENDER. SURRENDER.

Floats…for who knows..how long.

Receptionist lady whispers “It’s time. It’s time.”

I showered and felt super relaxed and reborn after the floating session. We went outside and felt like we had a new pair of eyes. I cannot wait to do it again, to be honest. Until then I will float through life with eyes full of wonder or should I say; wander.

Till next time.

Love.

out here soul searching steemit.jpg

Want to vibe some more?
http://www.littlerebelbuddha.com
http://www.instagram.com/littlerebelbuddha
http://www.facebook.com/littlerebelbuddha

More little notes, spirituality, travel stories and empowerment curated for the free thinkers and lightworkers out there. @rebelbuddha

✨❤️👽

The spiritual G in me recognizes the Spiritual G in you. <3 Namasté
✨❤️👽

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62284.56
ETH 2424.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58