Forget About Changing The World; Focus On Changing Your World. Read This.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

This is my first post on Steemit and it is of my great delight to put this post together. One of my likes is expressing what I've learnt over years and I appreciate the establishment of a platform like this which allows the sharing of ideas and thoughts.

Life is like a coin which has two sides. Many times, we always wish we have the 'other side', but we do not always get what we want. People's behaviour and act can be very obnoxious and unpleasant. In our own world of serenity and moral standards, everyone else may be just a bunch of pollutants.

hands-1222866__340.jpg

However, it would be a dreadful mistake that sometimes cost a lifetime, trying to change other people's character, behaviour and act. Never try to do that. We are entirely different and you shouldn't expect everyone to agree with you. One can spend time, energy, resources, and values trying to change others and still fail. Read the inscription on a tomb of an unknown Bishop long ago:

When I was young and free and my imagination had no limits, I dreamed of changing the world.
As I grew older and wiser I discovered the world would not change –
So I shortened my sights somewhat and decided to change only my country, but it too seemed immovable.
As I grew into my twilight years, in one last desperate attempt, I settled for changing only my family, those closest to me, but alas, they would have none of it.
And now I realize as I lie on my deathbed, if I had only changed myself first, then by example I might have changed my family. From their inspiration and encouragement I would then have been able to better my country,
And who knows, I might have even changed the world.

Truly, a life with no impact is a life of no value. However, we can't truly impact others without ourselves being a product of our own impact. In other words, we can't influence others without influencing ourselves first. A man who cannot change his mind will change nothing. We should lead by examples and never with words. Once we realise this, influencing others would be easier.

Whatever good thing you have in mind, maybe an idea or concept, and you felt the whole world should 'Buy It', sell to yourself first. Then, with the consistent act to influencing oneself, you will be surprised to see how magically many will get jealous and copy you. With time, you may never tell how big your impact would be.

So, you wanna change the world? Now you know!

Thanks for your time.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @pweciouse! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thanks for the tips about keys, I appreciate that. I'll check the link as soon as possible.

Hi, welcome to Steemit. I love the inscription on the tombstone. I coach a high school debate time and plan to share it with my debaters.

Thank you for sharing you thoughts on change. I wholeheartedly agree with your position.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm so glad you found the inscription useful. I'm really grateful for your agreement and comment. Thank you

Your welcome.

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to the community @pweciouse! Here in the platform you can do a lot of things to grow your authorship. Follow your favorite authors to help you learn new things and become a great author as well.

Here are some helpful posts about blogging from Steemit users:

While it's true that everybody can earn from content creation and curation, the best practice is to not expect anything in return. You won't get tired writing beautiful contents if you love what you do.

Do you find it hard to keep up with the game? Try adding value to your content and let others authors see value in it too. Don't be afraid to express your thoughts and make good contents.

Everyone had their own starting point, yours is just beginning.

See you around!

Thanks a lot for your advice. I appreciate It.

You're welcome @pweciouse! Enjoy your stay here in the community.

Thanks a lot

Welcome to Steem, @pweciouse!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3389 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus Points : Wallet Sneak Peek.

Hello you are welcome to steem community

I appreciate your comment, thank you.

welcome to steemit

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks a lot for the warm welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77