Apparently I Was Crap: Akshay Kumar On Being Rejected For Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikandar

in #trending6 years ago

LIVE TV
VIDEOS
Home
Glitz
'PRODUCERS THOUGHT I WAS CRAP'

ENTERTAINMENT
Apparently I Was Crap: Akshay Kumar On Being Rejected For Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikandar
Team Republic | 26-11-2017 07:16 am
He may be one the biggest superstars in India today but it wasn't always smooth sailing for Bollywood's 'Khiladi' Akshay Kumar. The actor revealed that before his hit film Khiladi, he had to audition for roles and got rejected as producers felt he was "crap". Akshay Kumar had auditioned for 1993 Aamir Khan starrer Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikandar but says he was rejected.
"So, I went there. Apna screen test diya maine, for Deepak Tijori's role [Tijori played the young anti-hero in the school-campus rom-com]. And they didn't like it. And, apparently, I was crap, so they removed me. So, there you go!," Akshay Kumar told Mid-Day.
The Rustom star revealed that he had auditioned for several filmmakers, including BR Chopra, Ravi Chopra, Raj Sippy and Pramod Chakravorty. In the interview to Mid-Day, Akshay narrated the story of how things turned around for him and fate prevented him from becoming a model and turned him into a Bollywood superstar. Akshay recalled that he had a modelling shoot in Bangalore but he missed his flight for it (he mistook a 6am flight for 6 pm). Slammed for being irresponsible, Akshay lost out on the modelling assignment. Dejected, he went over to Pramod Chakravorty's office to find work.
"I went to Natraj studio that day, where I met [filmmaker] Pramod Chakravorty's company's make-up man. He asked me, "Hero banna hai?" I said, "Haan yaar, banna hai [Yes, I want to be a hero]. He said, "Photo hai [You have pictures]?" Pramod Chakravorty saw it. I was called in. Much to my surprise, he gave me my first cheque, signed me up for three films, immediately. Right away. He gave me a cheque of Rs 5000, for the first film, Rs 50,000 for second film, and the third cheque had Rs 1.5 lakh on it. The exact time he gave me those cheques was 6 o'clock in the evening. It would have been a disaster, if I would have gone to Bangalore. Today, I would be a retired model somewhere. So yes, whatever happens is for the good," Akshay said.
Akshay Kumar is currently awaiting the release of Padman, which is produced by his wife Twinkle Khanna.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62