Elon Musk on the Importance of Love

in #elonmusk7 years ago (edited)

3F8B26D400000578-4438648-_Cheeky_Amber_Heard_has_seemingly_confirmed_her_relationship_wit-m-52_1492993568905.jpg

(The recent Rolling Stones profile of Elon Musk contains the most emotionally intimate details about the man since Ashlee Vance's biography. Particularly noteworthy are the parts describing Musk's way of thinking & also his difficult relationship with his father, which was only partially explained in the Vance's biography.

Enthusiasts might find this part about Musk views on love life either enlightening or completely meaningless.

What is interesting is that the author @NeilStrauss is/was, of course, a leading member of the pickup artist (PUA) community, perhaps only second in stature to Mystery. He is also on steemit! https://steemit.com/@neilstrauss

The scene is just after Musk broke up with his girlfriend, the actress Amber Heard:)

'Musk discusses the breakup for a few more minutes, then asks, earnestly, deadpan, "Is there anybody you think I should date? It's so hard for me to even meet people." He swallows and clarifies, stammering softly, "I'm looking for a long-term relationship. I'm not looking for a one-night stand. I'm looking for a serious companion or soulmate, that kind of thing."

I eventually tell him that it may not be a good idea to jump right into another relationship. He may want to take some time to himself and figure out why his previous relationships haven't worked in the long run: his marriage to writer Justine Musk, his marriage to actress Talulah Riley, and this new breakup with actress Amber Heard.

Musk shakes his head and grimaces: "If I'm not in love, if I'm not with a long-term companion, I cannot be happy."

I explain that needing someone so badly that you feel like nothing without them is textbook codependence.

Musk disagrees. Strongly. "It's not true," he replies petulantly. "I will never be happy without having someone. Going to sleep alone kills me." He hesitates, shakes his head, falters, continues. "It's not like I don't know what that feels like: Being in a big empty house, and the footsteps echoing through the hallway, no one there – and no one on the pillow next to you. Fuck. How do you make yourself happy in a situation like that?"

12-elon-musk.w750.h560.2x.jpg

There's truth to what Musk is saying. It is lonely at the top. But not for everyone. It's lonely at the top for those who were lonely at the bottom.

"When I was a child, there's one thing I said," Musk continues. His demeanor is stiff, yet in the sheen of his eyes and the trembling of his lips, a high tide of emotion is visible, pushing against the retaining walls. "'I never want to be alone.' That's what I would say." His voice drops to a whisper. "I don't want to be alone."'

From here:
http://www.rollingstone.com/culture/features/elon-musk-inventors-plans-for-outer-space-cars-finding-love-w511747

Sort:  

I feel that Elon should come to his senses & become a MGTOW & save a whole lot of time & focus on saving the world.

And we all know that 1 hour of Elon Musk's time = 100 x 1 hour of average person's time.

Maybe at least a Level 1 MGTOW, let go of long-term relationships!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50