Say hello to Big Bob

in #art8 years ago

This is Big Bob, he's not new but he's constantly evolving. I started Big Bob a few years ago, he started off as an acrylic painting but as I got more into oil paints so Big Big started to evolve in oils. Big Bob measures 1.5 x 1 metres , that's why he's called Big Bob and not Little Bob!

I never feel 100% satisfied with a painting, I always feel like there is something else to be done. So, it's very hard to step back from something and say 'OK that's finished'. I think Big Bob will always be unfinished in my eyes, he grows with me as I progress as a painter. I wonder how thick Big Bob's layers of paint will be in 20 years time?

Close up details:

The brown lines and some of the white are still the original acrylic paint. Can you see the difference between the surfaces of the oil paint and the acrylic paint?

Follow me @opheliafu to see more of Big Bob's friends!

Sort:  

There is a saying in Britain - Bob's your uncle it can be translated as there it is, or there you have it. Or if you wanted to literally translate it then it could mean Robert's your dad's brother which may cause more confusion if you misunderstood Bob's your uncle


Image courtesy of @opheliafu

I would like to see a few more of you British phrases explained in a future post. You have an excellent illustrator working for you too ;D

Hi @opheliafu
I am not an artist at all, but my dad is also a painter. What I have learnt from him is that an artist is never satisfied with his/her work. I would think the painting is perfect and beautiful, but then he still would like to change. I have one particular painting of his hanging in my house (I have a few of his paintings) and every time he comes to visit he wants to take the painting back to change it. He also has one painting that he never completes and I think he never will.
All of the best with Big Bob

Thanks for sharing that @rynow . I think it is an artists trait! We see the imperfections that others don't.

For me it looks like if Big Bob could be a part of a Huge Berta.

I'm not sure what a huge Berta is, but when I googled it the closest result was a Big Bertha! https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Big_Bertha_(howitzer)

I just thought huge>big and the female form of Bob would be Bertha (in German we drop the h). There is also a tunnel boring machine named Big Bertha, but I didn't think about that. Just wanted to bring in that even big pictures could sometimes be a part of even bigger pictures.

So I guessed right! It does have similar lines. Maybe one day I will expand Bob and he can fire Art onto peoples walls. Spread Art not War.

Absolutely, when every war will look like an holi festival, we know that we are at the age of enlightment.

having that one project that is constantly evolving so never finished is a great way to fight the urge to keep working on pieces when they don't need anymore.
I hope we get an update in a few months time.

Yes, you can risk overworking something, so it's good to step back and go do something else. I usually have 2 or 3 things on the go.

big bob looks pretty good
i also prefer to use the oil painting
just gives it a nicer texture i find
i'm usually never pleased with the finished product :D

great piece~~ thanks for sharing!

I love the smell of oil paints, makes me want to paint.

Big Bob is a very fitting name! He's huge!

He is huge. I have to hire a van to move him, too big for the car.

Loving Big Bob @opheliafu. Absolutely fan of your beautiful colours 😍

Feel free to wrap yourself in these colours anytime, my blog is full of them ;D

Bright and Pretty!!! :) You need to do more pictures before winter time, because when I look to the bright colors my soul get warmer and little bit happy. :)

You can see big bob so clearly in this picture.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60728.87
ETH 2661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50