Hanging out at the Ikon, Birmingham, Uk

in #art8 years ago

You know that feeling when you go to see some art, and end up being rolled out of a window? No? Well check out this cool work Observation Deck by Patrick Killoran at the Ikon Gallery, Birmingham, UK.


Photograph by @opheliafu

It was a very odd sensation, climbing onto a sliding platform and strapping yourself in. There was something very restrictive about the straps holding me on to this table like platform, with my arms at my side. I then had to use my hands to push myself outside of the window.

It was only my head out of the window, but I’m terrified of heights and felt a huge sense of vulnerability. What if the platform continued to roll out of the window? Would I crash onto the people drinking tea below? Of course the answer to these questions is no, but a certain sense of rational thinking had gone out of the window!

Look how high up it is! But, you do get a beautiful view of the sky, and the lovely tiles that decorate the building. Birmingham has some gorgeous architectural gems, the Ikon building is one of them.

At the Ikon today, I also saw work by the artists Jesse Bruton, Kan Xuan and Pamela Scott Wilkie.

Let me know if you enjoyed sharing my visit with me today, and I’ll bring you along to more of my gallery trips via Steemit.

Follow me @opheliafu

All photographs by @opheliafu.

Sort:  

Hahhaha, this is the funniest thing I have seen all week! I hope the window stays up. If it comes down it could hit you like a guillotine! NOT GOOD!

'How I lost my head at the Ikon, Birmingham, Uk' by @ophelia-cryogenically-frozen-head-fu

Hahahah, You better lock down that Steemit handle now!

I was thinking, what if someone steals my handle! Ooh that could be my new painting 'Steemit til I die, and beyond!'

That's awesome - cool idea as long as its not raining!

Yes, I was really lucky with the weather. The girl who was overseeing the installation said the conditions were perfect, if it's too sunny it can be a bit too bright looking up. Ahhhh the English smog!

What? That is just crazy! I have never heard of things like this!

Come to the UK, we love a bit of crazy Art!

Love your "yikes" photo, really drives home the fear giving factor of it!

For most this wouldn't be scary. But, I find some stairs 'too high' for me!

I think most would have a second think about this one!

you're brave I don't think I would have got on the table.

I was having a mad moment.

well it looks like it was worth it :D

I envy you.You are best!

It looks like rather dangerous thing. I like it)) wonderful view)

Thats awesome! I would totally do this, all for the love of art ...LOL :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50