Vaccination is a no-brainer - it saves lives

I am sharing a link to an excellent pro-vaccination article from Medium -https://medium.com/the-method/anti-vaccination-is-killing-children-in-europe-658415c54a04

Every international airport I have travelled to within the last twelve months has been warning about a measles epidemic.

I had my MMR booster a couple of years ago.

As a child I contracted mumps twice, once aged 7 and then again at 15. I was born in 1966 so MMR vaccines weren't available for my generation. My brother and I both got mumps as teens. We were lucky to have not sustained more permanent damage or follow-up complications. That said, I was very sick with mumps both times.

Taken from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) website:

Mumps can occasionally cause complications, especially in adults.

inflammation of the testicles (orchitis) in males who have reached puberty; rarely does this lead to fertility problems
inflammation of the brain (encephalitis)
inflammation of the tissue covering the brain and spinal cord (meningitis)
inflammation of the ovaries (oophoritis) and/or breast tissue (mastitis)
deafness>

I also never had the chickenpox vaccine and I was lucky enough to never get it despite both my sisters getting it in their teens which now means that they will be at risk of getting shingles. My immune system must have been quite good at that time.

I have, many years later, been vaccinated for varicella (chickenpox), measles, mumps and rubella. Because we moved to Central America I also got vaccinated for rabies and Yellow Fever and Hep A. My Hep A and Yellow Fever vaccines are lifetime preventative. The rabies vaccine will only slow the development of the infection in time to get to hospital. Given the amount of stray and feral animals in countries like Belize, a rabies vaccine is worth getting.

I also have the flu shot every year - with no complication.

I do not understand how the absurd conspiracy theories about the dangers of vaccines still persists.

So while you decide to decline a vaccination for yourself or your child consider the following severe complications from measles - again from the CDC website:

Severe Complications

Some people may suffer from severe complications, such as pneumonia (infection of the lungs) and encephalitis (swelling of the brain). They may need to be hospitalized and could die.

As many as one out of every 20 children with measles gets pneumonia, the most common cause of death from measles in young children.

About one child out of every 1,000 who get measles will develop encephalitis (swelling of the brain) that can lead to convulsions and can leave the child deaf or with intellectual disability.

For every 1,000 children who get measles, one or two will die from it.

Measles may cause pregnant woman to give birth prematurely, or have a low-birth-weight baby.

The measles epidemic is no joke. People, particularly small children are dying from it. Some kids will end up years later with severe (yet rare SPCC complications) leaving them paralysed.

Vaccines do not contain Round-Up (one of the weirder anti-vaxer theories) do not cause autism (which is an inherited condition), if they contain nano-particles, they are of biologically insignificant quantities.

Vaccinate your kids and yourselves people. 37 deaths in Europe from measles to date and counting.

Sort:  

I don't understand how nowadays people don't vaccinate their children, it's quite irresponsible... we're seeing many steps back from this generation in this matter and others like the fashion for the raw milk.

I don't know were we going if these kind of stupidities continue growing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75