This African Story On Humanity Will Leave You In Awe...

in #africa6 years ago

At the time of Obatala, three people came to him dragging a young man with them and said to him: Babalawo, aboru boyè! This man has murdered our father

Obatala: Why did you kill their father?

Young man: I'm a goatherd. My goat ate from their father's farm, and he threw a stone at my goat and he died, so I also took the stone and threw it at their father and he also died.

Obatala: Because of this, I pass judgment on your charge of murder by sentencing you to death.

Young man: I ask for 3 days before you execute the judgment. My late father left me some wealth and I have a sister to take care of. If you kill me now, the wealth and my sister will have no guardian.

Obatala: Who will stand for your bail?

Young man: looking into the crowd, he pointed at Lamurudu

Obatala: do you agree to stand for him Lamurudu?

Lamurudu: Beeni (yes)

Obatala: You agree to stand for someone you don't know, and if he doesn't return you'll receive his penalty.

Lamurudu: I accept

The young man left but after two days, and into the third day there was still no sign of him.

Everyone was very afraid for Lamurudu who had accepted to receive the penalty of death if the man failed to return.

Just before it was time for dinner, the goat herd appeared looking very exhausted in and he stood before Obatala.

Young man: I have handed the wealth and the welfare of my sister to my uncle and I'm now yours. You may execute the penalty now.

In great shock and surprise,

Obatala said: And why did you return after having a chance to escape the death penalty?

Young man: “I was afraid, it will appear that humanity has lost the ability to fulfill promises kept.”

Obatala turned and looked at Lamurudu: “And why did you stand for him?”

Lamurudu: “I was afraid, it might appear that humanity have lost the will to do good to others."

These words and events moved the brothers who had wanted justice for their father's death very deeply and they decided to forgive the young goat herd.

In furious anger, Obatala asked "Why?"

They said: We’re afraid, it will appear as though forgiveness has lost place in the heart of humanity.

I’ve also shared this beautifully translated message with you in fear that it might appear that reminders towards doing good has lost place in humanity (eda) if I don't.

For Olodumare's (God's) sake, I encourage you to share to others, in fear that it might appear spreading goodwill messages has lost place in humanity.

Wuwa bi Omoluabi! #ActResponsibly
...
The original story is embedded in several history books as learnt and some even linked it to religious history. The original author remains unknown. The focus must be on the embedded lessons.

*This story is told by Segun Awosanya @segalinks on Twitter.

Please follow me for more educating posts @oluwadunsin

#Dogood
#Believeyoucan
#Humanity
#Actresponsibly
#wafrica
#africa
#greeterguild
#newbieresteemday

Did you enjoy reading this? Then Upvote. Resteem. Follow.

Sort:  

This is a sweet story. It's been a while and I've missed you greatly. Welcome back.

Thanks a lot Dave.

Congratulations @oluwadunsin! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85