The Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum - My writing for the weekendsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

The Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum is located in Phnom Penh, the capital of Cambodia, in remembrance of the Cambodian genocide perpetrated by the Pol Pot regime. This chocking place was a high school that was used as the Security Prison 21 (S-21) by the Khmer Rouge regime from 1975 to 1979.

prisao 29.jpg

Tuol Sleng means "Hill of the Poisonous Trees". The place was one of at least 150 execution centers established by the Khmer Rouge. Only seven of the twenty thousand Tuol Sleng prisoners escaped from being executed.

prisao 4 bw.jpg

Upon arrival at the prison, prisoners, including children, were photographed and required to give detailed autobiographies, beginning with their childhood and ending with their arrest. The prisoners were then taken to their cells.

prisao 15 bw.jpg

Those taken to the smaller cells were shackled to the walls or the concrete floor. Those who were held in the large mass cells were collectively shackled to long pieces of iron bar. The shackles were fixed to alternating bars; the prisoners slept with their heads in opposite directions.

prisao 27 bw.jpg

Within two or three days after they were brought to S-21, all prisoners were taken for interrogation. The torture system at Tuol Sleng was designed to make prisoners confess to whatever crimes they were charged with by their captors. Prisoners were routinely beaten and tortured with electric shocks, searing hot metal instruments and hanging, as well as through the use of various other devices.

prisao 1 bw.jpg

Some prisoners were cut with knives or suffocated with plastic bags. Other methods for generating confessions included pulling out fingernails while pouring alcohol on the wounds, holding prisoners’ heads under water.

prisao 13 bw.jpg

prisao 9.jpg

Lest not forget!

(Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tuol_Sleng_Genocide_Museum)

Isabel
www.isabelnolasco.com

Photos taken with my Canon EOS 5D MKIII, edited with Lightroom.

​If you liked this post you may like these also:

https://steemit.com/blog/@nolasco/me-or-we-my-inspirational-writing-for-the-mid-week

https://steemit.com/blog/@nolasco/my-little-star-my-inspirational-writing-for-the-new-week

https://steemit.com/pt/@nolasco/the-killing-fields-of-the-khmer-rouge-my-writing-on-the-weekend

Sort:  

So horrific. And so brave of you to go there.

Dear Melinda, I had to go there, but I was upset for some while after. Even now, when I "live" this place again, my heart feels oppressed.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 25 November 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Thanks, my dear Pix!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19