A steemian's world food journal: Nha Trang (Vietnam) Part 1

in #food8 years ago

Hello everybody,
Last night I had a call with my best friend, we’ve known each other for almost ten years when studying in Sydney. After getting married, we both left our hometowns to follow our life partner. And now I’m living in Germany and she’s living in Nha Trang – a coastal city in Southern Vietnam. Talking to her reminds me of our unforgetable trip in Nha Trang last summer, and I think to myselft that why can I not blogging about Nha Trang, with all the amazing food that we had eaten ?

enter image description here

It’s hard for us to meet up and on a beautiful day I told her that I booked flight ticket to Nha Trang to visit her. You know what? She was so happy that she danced all day long LOLLLL. Her husband at once called me and said “My wife loves you more than me!”. Both of us think that TRAVEL always goes with FOOD, which explains why we ate a lot of food in this trip. Let’s see our stunning food journey in this coastal city!
enter image description here
View of Nha Trang from my hotel
enter image description here
Like heaven on earth – blue sea, white sand and...

AWESOME and FRESH SEAFOOD
Nha Trang is famous for its amazing beaches and there are no doubt that the seafood here is abundant and fresh too. There are some kinds of fish that you’ve never seen before. I bet that Nha Trang’s seafood is the best in Vietnam, with a surprisingly cheap price.
enter image description here
Jelly Fish Salad ($2)
This is Jelly Fish Salad. Trust me! You’ll fall in love with this dish. It includes green mango, onion, carrot, basil leaves, chilli, smashed roasted peanuts and the most important ingredient – jelly fish. Coupling with all these ingredients is sweet and sour fish sauce results in a lovely taste that will awake your stomach.
enter image description here
Sea urchin (uni) sashimi for only $1.5
You can find a lot of sea urchins (uni) in Nha Trang with very cheap price. You can order grilled uni, uni sashimi or fried uni with eggs.
enter image description here
Hey! Look at this photo! Can you guess what it is? It is red-spotted grouper sashimi, which is often served in luxurious seafood restaurant and the price is rather expensive. However, it’s easy to eat red-spotted grouper with reasonable cost in Nha Trang.
enter image description here
This is my favorite dish – Grilled Abalone with scallions. Grilling on a charcoal stove is one of the most delicious ways of eating abalones because it remains fresh, light and sweet flavor.
enter image description here
This fish is “Ca Bo Hom”, so sad that I don’t know its English name but I swear the fish meat is extremely tasty. The locals tell me that it’s not easy to get this species of fish everyday! How lucky I am . To get the best taste you have to keep fish scales to grill on charcoal. Let’s remove scales and enjoy it with rice wrappers and vegetables and dip it into sour and sweet fish sauce ^^

enter image description here
Roasted Crab with Tamarind Sauce

enter image description here
Steamed Squid

enter image description here
Seafood heaven in Nha Trang

enter image description here
Varieties of clams and snails

I feel something missing here, let me think over. Maybe it’s lobster. Right, I haven’t mentioned lobster in this post. If you are a big fan of lobster, Nha Trang is exactly a MUST-VISIT city for you.

enter image description here
Steamed lobsters
Lobsters are everywhere – seafood stalls, food street vendors, luxurious restaurants.

enter image description here
Grilled lobsters

enter image description here
Are you scared of snails? If not, you can stop by this stall in Ngo Duc Ke street, most of the dishes are snails with very cheap price: 1$/dish for any kinds of snails.

The snails here are cooked in different ways, for instance stirring, steaming and grilling, and they all taste incredible. The special part is the sauces. There are various types of sauces here: tamarine with garlic, butter garlic, and also chilli. People use the sauces to stirr the snails. I just love this way of eating snails, it would be a big mistake ignoring snail dishes when you are in Nha Trang.

I think I should stop here since it is 11pm at my place, and looking at these pictures makes me so hungry. Okay okay I should really stop before it is to late, eating at this time will definitely help you to gain weight lol. Thank you for reading and I will come back soon with the next part about Nha Trang <3<3<3

PS: All photos are taken by myself, do you think I’m good enough to be a food photographer?


Follow @knozaki2015's excellent initiative, I will from now on donate 8% of my earned SBD to Project Curie and Steemsquad.

Sort:  

I like this stuff, only on steemit.
I'd love to try that crab and grilled lobsters. You did a great job.

Thank you, they are amazing , you should really give them a try ;)

Why, oh why I was watching your photos being hungry ;D
Awesome post!

The foods look so good.

This fish is “Ca Bo Hom”, so sad that I don’t know its English name but I swear the fish meat is extremely tasty.

Cowfish, IMO

Uni is so great... its like eating the ocean.

Great food and pictures!

The food looks delicious. When I was in Saigon, I really enjoyed the rice noodles.

Saigon's cuisine is fantastic too, I might post about it later, I love Saigon ^^

I would so love to try any of those dishes.

I'm a seafood addict and haven't even been to nha trang :( (also an a vietnamese) definitely gonna visit the place next year! It makes me hungry just by looking at the pictures

Yep I can tell you're vietnamese by your username, nha trang is amazing, nice beaches and great seafood, especially when it is very cheap :D

steemit Steemit tweeted @ 23 Sep 2016 - 02:23 UTC

A steemian's world food journal: Nha Trang #Vietnam Part 1 @Steemit #Travel

steemit.com/food/@mibenkit… / https://t.co/jQa4Mxueq8
https://t.co/AZjHR5jn4B

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44