A steemian's food experience: I love Aqua S

in #food8 years ago

enter image description here
AQUA S SOFT SERVE – SYDNEY CBD

Hello Steemians, this time I’m gonna introduce a very special dessert in Sydney: the most “photogenic” soft-serve from Aqua S ice-cream. The first Aqua S opened last year in Sydney CBD and until now, there are total four shops: three in Sydney and one in Melbourne. What is special about the ice-cream here that makes them stand out while there are so many good dessert houses in Australia? These pictures can tell it all:
enter image description here
enter image description here
enter image description here
enter image description here
enter image description here
(pictures from Hayley Benoit and Imstillhungry)

Who could resist a WOW seeing those pictures? When my friend told me about this ice-cream shop and sent me some photos, I was totally speechless. These soft-serves are too good too be true. They look so lovely, so dreamy, so pretty and so fanciful. Therefore, when I visited Sydney last year, the first thing that came to my mind was “I have to go to that soft-serve shop as soon as I can”. And finally, I could get to see these pretty soft-serves for real and TASTE them. Here is my treat:
enter image description here
enter image description here
I ordered a cup of sea salt and mango orange flavor, with fairy floss made of cotton candy around. To be honest, the reason I go to this ice-cream shop was that the soft-serves look so beautiful with very unique and eye catching colors. At that time, I thought to myself that these artificial colors might not taste natural, it must be full of sugar or something. However, I was more than satisfied. The texture is smooth and creamy. The sea-salt flavor was a little bit … salty (of course :P), but you can feel the sweet after the second and third spoon. Especially, the slightly salty of sea salt and the sweet and sour of mango orange go well together.

The sea-salt soft serve is the signature flavor of Aqua S. The co-owner of the shop said that the idea of making sea-salt soft serve initially came from Okinawa, Japan. “The color aqua blue in our establishment perfectly aligns with our signature soft serves. Together with our feature wall with clouds, it sets our magical and dreamlike corporate image and identity” (Aqua S website, 2016). Except for the original sea-salt soft serve, other flavors will be changed fortnightly. Each time, two or three brand new flavors will be introduced, therefore people will not get bored of the place. They might want to come back again to see what are next in every two-week time. There are several unique flavors that have been created: tofu, earl grey, rose, salted caramel, taro, black sesame, melon milkshake, pink grapefruit, apricot etc. What a pity I only visited Sydney for a few days, so I could not taste their new flavors :(
enter image description here
Tofu soft-serve
enter image description here
Sea salt and lychee soft serve
enter image description here
Apple-black currant vs honeydew milkshake
(pictures from Imstillhungry)

Another special thing about soft-serve here is the striking toppings. There are four kinds: grilled marshmallow, cotton candy (fairy floss), caramel popcorn and popping candy. Although the cotton candy is very photogenic, I find a little bit difficult and messy eating them.
While doing a small research for the soft-serve, I came up with pictures of the making of grilled marshmallow and cotton candy. I found them very interesting:
enter image description here
enter image description here
enter image description here
(pictures from google)

Customers often pose with their desserts in front of the store’s wall decorated with cloudy-blue skies.
enter image description here
(picture from Imstillhungry)
The wall is full of pictures of Aqua S’s customers.

The price of these lovely soft-serves are not so expensive, approximately 4 euro for an ice-cream with one topping and with 6 euro, you can have an ice-cream with all of the toppings. If you have a chance to visit Sydney, I recommend you to visit Aqua S and try the soft-serve here. And if you have tried it, how do you think about this pretty dessert? What are your favorite flavors? Please leave a comment :)

Thank you for reading and see you soon ;)

PS: Follow @knozaki2015's excellent initiative, I will from now on donate 8% of my earned SBD to Project Curie and Steemsquad.

Sort:  

wow this is awesome and beautiful !

Yes, it is. People even call them "instagram soft-serves" because of their stunning looks ^^

Really nice. Next time I am in Syndney I will try it out.

They really look pretty, almost too pretty to be eaten. Anyway, I wish we have them here in Germany :(

I heard that they are franchising @lisadang, next year some asian countries will welcome Aqua S, who knows maybe there's gonna an Aqua S in Germany ^^

I hope that! :D

Food is our common ground, a universal experience.

I totally agree ;)

I lived in Okinawa in the sixties. So sorry I never discovered this if it were around then.

Yeah... It might be new or something, I've never been to Okinawa :(

awesome. the blue white ones are some steemy coloured. :-) don't think the blue comes from the sea salt but didn't think lychee has any blue in it.

I think they put some artificial colors into it @ace108, lychee is white but its a combination of sea salt and lychee I think :-?

yes, we get the real deal lychee and those in cans in Singapore. imported of course and that's why I wonder where the blue was from. in fact, when I had lunch with the super heroes ( in my last post), I had a lychee soda. :-)

I do like the flavor of lychee, I tried the lychee ice tea once in Sydney, it was pretty good 💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59987.83
ETH 2418.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41