Tourist in own country: visiting Paleis Het LoosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

When on vacation in France we love to visit castles and palaces. Isn't it strange we don't do that in our own country? We thought it was, so we decided to visit Paleis Het Loo. The website says: 'Paleis Het Loo is located in the heart of the Netherlands, on the outskirts of Apeldoorn. Since 1984, after a thorough restoration, this former royal palace has been open to the public. The furnished rooms and chambers show how the Oranges have lived and worked here for three hundred years. The baroque gardens have a symmetrical design, taking the garden of the 17th century as an example, and are unique in the Netherlands. In the course of those three hundred years, the palace has had a lot of very diverse residents and the building itself underwent many changes.'
I can recommend a visit. Here are some of the pictures I took, but you should go see for yourself one day. It's beautiful!

Playing room (I forgot, was it Juliana's or Wilhelmina's):
speelkamer.jpg

Wilhelmina's bath room:
badkamer.jpg

Wilhelmina's office:
werkkamer.jpg

Juliana's 'teenage room':
juliana.jpg

One of the salons
salon.jpg:

And look outside:
raam.jpg

tuin.jpg

Paleis.jpg

fontein.jpg

Love seat:
bankje.jpg

Sort:  

I love it! :) I do that sometimes - a have a tourist day in a place I live, just randomly exploring sights I haven't seen before

so beautiful place to visit!!! I love that rooms ^_^

Beutiful look like life with pride...make me want to go to france when i saw your photo

This is Holland though! :-)

Oh i am sorry i think france..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62449.67
ETH 2429.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58