Night Swim - original poem and artwork by @mariandavp

in #art8 years ago (edited)

I saw you standing on the deck
You seemed careless and cool
Our world was coming to an end
To you it was the end of a cruise.

Tranquil, you showed me the sea
You said Look! It’s almost like glass
But it sort of seemed breathless
Exactly like us.

You said Look! Look up to the stars!
And I did, but you saw many
And I saw none.

Pretentiously happy, hand in hand,
We found ourselves falling;
Falling apart.

A strange energy; an invisible rope
Was pulling you down,
Was drowning me too.

That rope was so vicious
We would have been lost
If you didn’t shout
Baby take me home!

And so I did.

Do you remember how I pulled you close?
How I hooked my legs around your core?
How I sealed my lips on yours?
How I made you breathe my hope?

And what was once pulling us down
It was pushing us up
Until we reached the surface
Of a sea like glass.

What is this happiness I feel?
You asked. Could this be love?
All I feel is a thank you;
For swimming in the dark.

[Artwork acrylics on canvas 120x100cm, with digital editing]

Sort:  

That is an extraordinary photograph. Is it a selfie?

Thanks! No, I'm hopeless with selfies, it is actually a professional photo taken for an interview. Since then I use it as my publishing photo
http://blog.easywriter.gr/sinentefxi-tis-singrafeos-mariantas-papaioannou/
http://www.athensvoice.gr/contributors/marianta-papaioannoy

Frank words and heartfelt presence...In harmonics we may grow, if there is an uplifting instead of a minor tone which invariably brings both down. Namaste :)

Like binaural beats... the sounds of the universe. I am waiting for your poem alongside your wonderful photos.

Hearing you soft and clear, may the "Zuvuyas" (The cosmic frequency ripples named by the Mayans.) allow for this universe to coalesce into harmonious flows of creation. Thanks for your encouragement, the pics and poems combo is on the uprise. Namaste :)

beautiful words to accompany a true work of art congratulations

Thank you so much! :)

I love "How I hooked my legs around your core?" Im horny now....lol

An unexpected effect, still an effect..😊

Great art, great poem
💋 @halo 💋😇

Thank you ❤❤

Great poem, @mariandavp, will resteem it!

Thanks so much, appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45