The STEEMIT Cocktail of the Month (Special Edition) - THE SteemFest PUNCH!!!

in #steemfest8 years ago

** All the proceeds of this post will go towards my SteemFest TRIP and my possible relocation to AMSTERDAM!!! **


The Steemit

COCKTAIL OF THE MONTH - (SPECIAL EDITION)

"Making a proper cocktail is an art"


After the unfortunate experience I last year (read below), I have become, less than thrilled with New York City… Actually, I have been thinking about a move out of the New York and the United States for a bit, now… 

And after such a gut wrenching, painstaking experience of Identity Theft / Bank Fraud.., and the subsequent hours upon hours trying to prove it -- I have pretty much had it with this town. New York City, these days, is just living off it's past, anyway. I live, at the moment.., just a few blocks from where they drop The BALL every New Years Eve… And today, New York is nothing but a giant shopping mall. All the cool little shops and stores that used to exist, have been taken over by Starbucks or American Apparel or another Bank.

It's very disheartening to see on a daily basis… Especially, when I can remember when New York was a place of creativity and people coming to fulfill a dream… Now, the only people that come are tourists (that get charged $17 for a crappy burger and assaulted by Elmo in Times Square if they don't cough up $5 for that picture) and people coming to work on Wall Street or some big corporation -- to see how much money they can make and then split.

It's just not the same.., it hasn't been for a while…


So, sadly… I believe my time in "The City That Never Sleeps" is coming to an end...


But, I look forward to the next chapter of my life, in a different land.., and all the experiences that can bring… Thanks for reading and I hope -- if I don't see you there… You have the TIME of your LIFE at STEEMFEST!!!


Hey Fellow Steemians...

I would love to be there with you all.., to whip this up and ensure it is made properly.., and of course, with a little love… But my financial situation, at the moment -- is pretty bleak.

Unfortunately, last year I fell victim to Identity Theft / Bank Fraud… Both of my bank accounts were drained. My credit union account drained and closed, after the perpetrator tried to take out a $3000 dollar loan. Numerous credit cards opened in my name. And not until this prick tried to buy a car in Florida using my name (I live in NY) did he get busted…

I will say after many long hours on the phone with credit reps and other "official types" I am not on the hook for the numerous purchases made in my name. But, the little "cushion" I had tucked away in the bank is gone, forever. And these days, I live week to week -- C'est la vie...


So.., if you could -- ReSteemit to all your followers and don't forget to upvote and follow @macksby for more tasty cocktails, to come -- CHEERS!


And now… The SteemFest PUNCH -- When I thought about creating a cocktail for the, first ever, SteemFest… I knew immediately, it would be a punch. Punches are made to be enjoyed with large groups of friends - family - and of course, STEEIMIANS.

The Punch I have created, for my fellow Steemians and this unprecedented event.., is not only refreshing  and warming, like a good punch should be… It packs a KICK too... Ladies -- Gentlemen -- STEEMIANS… I bring you The SteemFest Punch. Enjoy!


THE SteemFest PUNCH

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 oz Four Roses or Heaven Hill Bourbon (a quality bourbon) 
  • 1 oz Aperol
  • 1 oz Fresh Grapefruit Juice
  • 1/2 oz Fresh Lime Juice
  • 1/2 oz Demerara Syrup
  • 2-3 Dashes of Orange Bitters (optional)


The word Punch comes from the sanskrit word (pañc), meaning "five" - as in five ingredients. There is nothing (besides a big hug) that says welcome -- better than a good punch.


Preperation:

  • Combine all ingredients in mixing glass (or punch bowl for large batch - recommended)
  • Mix well
  • Pour over ice
  • Easy enough, right...

Garnish:

  • Ground Cinnamon
  • Ground Nutmeg
  • Slices of orange, lemon, lime and grapefruit (for large punch bowl)


Demerara Syrup Recipe

Ingredients: 

  • 1 part Demerara Sugar (or turbinado sugar)
  • 1 part water

Preparation:

  • Bring water to a light boil
  • Add sugar an stir until completely dissolved (low simmer 1 - 2 minutes)
  • Let cool at room temperature
  • Store in a bottle and refrigerate

Side Note:

  • Make sure not to add ice to the punch bowl (it will water down the cocktail)
  • Add the ice to each glass and pour punch over ice

Batched to 100 Drinks:

  • 6 bottles bourbon
  • 4 bottles aperol
  • 3 liters grapefruit juice
  • 1 1/2 liters lime juice
  • 1 1/2 liters Demerara Syrup


And.., whether I am there or not… I hope you ALL have the BEST TIME EVER -- CHEERS!

Don't forget to RESTEEMIT and follow @macksby for more creative cocktails

Image source: 1 2 3

Sort:  

Up'd and resteem'd Mack! I wish you well in your endeavors!

Very cool of you @rigaronib... Appreciated. CHEERS!

I absolutely love drink recipes. I might trade out the grapefruit juice for orange, is that a deal breaker?

I would suggest keeping the grapefruit and using a few dashes (2-3) of the optional orange bitters. Cheers @gringalicious

Upvoted and re-Steemed @macksby! Take care, friend.

Thanks, my brother... CHEERS!

That looks so good!! :D... Can't wait for steemfest and looking to relocate there as well! @macksby

Hope you have a great time at steemfest @christoryan... But, it looks like this post is not going to get me there, unfortunately. CHEERS!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60937.59
ETH 2721.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43