Have You Grown Tobacco?

in #gardening8 years ago (edited)

This is our first year ever trying and I harvested our plants today.  They did quite well in the greenhouse as you can see, they are standing on the ground and taller than me!  


Two hours later...I have the leaves cut off the tobacco and hung in our dining room which gets plenty of light, and wind from the ceiling fan.

I got my tip on drying the tobacco from a friend from Syria. His family grew tobacco, and earlier in the year he told me they would use a sewing needle and industrial thread to make easy work of hanging the tobacco. I tried it and it worked brilliantly.


We have tobacco planted outdoors, that is only 3 feet tall!  Greenhouses, at least in Canada, are essential to really boost plant growth.  We keep all our tomatoes, cucumbers and strawberries, eggplant and peppers in greenhouses to maximize our growing season, and to keep off unwanted pollutions in the rainfalls.  

I feel like I'm in the Rainforest when I go in there...

My next step after it has dried is to cure it.  I am just winging things as I go, as always haha, but a good friend showed me this guideline to curing: https://www.leafonly.com/tobacco-harvesting-curing-fermenting.php

I'll be sure to post more updates as we go!  

Sort:  

nice. does tobacco has any blossoms ?

I let one plant go to seed, yes, and the flowers are absolutely gorgeous! Like tiny pink trumpets. The seeds are so plentiful and small, I should get more than enough to plant next year's crop with just with the one plant.

very nice !
am i right you want to smoke the tobacco later ?
A nice person i know was having thoughts to try to smoke the tobaccoblooms. because this person was comparing cannabis and tobacco. any suggestions on that ?
Another friend told me that natural tobacco without any additions would taste disgusting.
what about that? did you try some natural tobacco ?

Tobacco kills thousands every year but congratulations on exercising your freedom to grow a plant that causes cancer and lung disease.

Won't your whole house smell like tobacco when it dries up, haha? Or does it get its smell after you cure it?

How synchronistic, I am a late comer to the TV series GOT, but I've read the series twice now. Just watched this episode the other night. LOL! Love Tyrion. Anyhow @veryrico, there is really no smell at all, so it must come from the curing! I will keep you posted on the curing process.

Congrats on your successful crop. I know it is not easy to grow any plant. My tomato plants did not survive...lol

In Canada, it's all about the greenhouse. I cannot grow tomatoes outdoors to save my life, I tried again this year, and got off a couple plants, they weren't cherry tomato plants...but I got cherry tomatoes! AHHA :) How are you growing your tomatoes?

Oh! The restaurant I used to work at grew a lot of it's veggies out front. We also grew tobacco. You can use the leaves to make an organic pesticide for your garden!

Thank you very much for that tip, I need to look into how to make that, using the stems I hope. I don't want to waste any of the leaf haha. I have a friend who grows tobacco, just purely to catch small bugs and flies, works like a charm, the leaves are so sticky!

Beautiful plants. I have grown Indian tobacco and Iranian tobacco, which tasted better. I also grew it in a greenhouse and it took months to cure properly but smoked very well. Congratulations.

Mmmmmmm Iranian tobacco sounds HEAVENLY! I will have to order some seeds for next year, thanks for the hint, @luzcypher!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61