He did not think about me once & an overdose of heroine killed him

in #life6 years ago

I was a teenager when I crossed the border of Afghanistan for Iran, with my father. Soon after, destiny called in the form of a marriage proposal from Pakistan. Excited to begin my married life, I eagerly settled in Karachi with my husband.

Little did I know, my husband was a heroin and marijuana addict. I would work from day to night to make our ends meet. I got him admitted to rehab many times and was paying for his treatment. He would stop for some time, but as soon as he would get out of rehabilitation, he would start abusing the substances again. Although he was not doing anything for us, at least I wasn’t labeled a refugee when he was with us. Not once though, did he think about his responsibility towards me and one day, an overdose of heroine killed him. Due to his drug addiction and death, I never managed to be legally registered in Pakistan. He was never in the state of mind to go to NADRA with me.

19060084_1338476726241734_2044335580520721522_n-2.jpg

His sudden demise put me in a terribly difficult situation, as I became a refugee with 2 boys. I had no one; no family, relatives or even a shelter to protect my children. My case is being fought for years now. Hearing after hearing; interview after interview, but all without progress or any end in sight. An organization finally helped me get into Edhi homes. I am young and energetic, and normal unlike many here who have been through something far more painful in life. Faisal Edhi helped me stay here and work. Now, I take care of the elderly and mentally ill women. I don’t know how long I’ll be here, but at least I have shelter, food, security and most importantly, my children are being educated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25