Easy Herbs: Chickweed (Stellaria media)

in #health7 years ago (edited)

This is a redo of my first ever post. I made a few mistakes as a raw newbie, so I hope it's OK to correct them with this post.

chickweed 1.jpg


Chickweed (Stellaria media) is a sprawling ground cover that comes out at the end of winter, just when our bodies need one of its main effects.

Chickweed is an excellent way to move those stagnant fluids in our bodies, those toxins that build up over winter with all the good eating, the cold and lack of movement. It is known in herbalism as a lymphatic tonic as it helps get the lymph moving and draining as it should.

The main folk use for Chickweed’s cooling, soothing nature is for rashes and inflammations. Almost any kind of inflammation can benefit from Chickweed, but it comes into its own when used as a cream or poultice for rashes. It is a very effective way to get diaper rash under control. Eczema responds well to it too.

Anytime you see ‘red’, ‘inflamed’ or ‘irritated’ tissues, especially in Spring, they could benefit from Chickweed. Plantain, too can be thought of for these issues too.

Being a soft plant, it is best used fresh to take advantage of all it’s water soluble goodness as it’s not very potent when it’s dry. When fresh, use Chickweed as a vegetable in winter and spring meals.

There's more easy explanations of the healing properties of common herbs here on our blog


chickweed2.jpg

Sort:  

Great to learn more about this, thanks @ligayagardener! It grows right by my letter box, so I've made a habit this year of devouring a handful each time I check the mail. In with the bills, out with the toxins...

I love to add it to my salad mix, along with some young plantain leaves. I wonder if it's properties would remain in a salve?

I've never done a chickweed salve, but there's lots of good reasons to make one. The main effective chemicals are saponins, soap like molecules that help to reduce inflammation. I can't see why those wouldn't transfer to a salve. Give it a try

Mullein has lots of saponins too. I made an oil and a salve with that earlier this year. Definitely gonna try the chickweed.

Mullein is a great herb, unfortunately, it doesn't grow wild around here. Some winters, I wish it would! Give Chickweed a try. Its so gentle that you can't lose!

What is the best dose/way to take chickweed for the lymph nodes?

You can take Chickweed as a tea or even eat it fresh. That will help systemically. If you have particular nodes that are an issue, a poultice of crushed Chickweed applied directly over them will help too. If you can, massage the lymph nodes while taking Chickweed to maximise the benefits of both the massage and the herb.

I hope that helps.

So much information @ligayagardener thanks for sharing.

no worries @waliladeluxe! glad you enjoyed it, theres more to come, probably a weekly post

No worries! More to come

I love chickweed. It is one edible wild plant that is still growing in th reinterpret where I live. Thanks for the thoughtful post! I am upvoting and following.

Great post and very informative. @ligayagardener Have learnt a lot from it.

We've got chickweed too. Didn't know it had healing properties.

Its one of the great general healers. I walked over it for years before learning about it. Now I cherish every plant I see

thanks for sharing i like this.. my vote for u plz vote me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63986.43
ETH 2745.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66