Mental Illness - seems difficult to understand, isn't really.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

When I was first diagnosed with my Mental Illness in the early 2000's my doctors really went to town on me. They diagnosed me with Paranoid Schizophrenia, and if you don't know much about Mental Illnesses, people with this are the most likely to be the victims of abuse and are extremely susceptible to suicide. To say that my mind was a mess with this blatant overuse of tagging was an understatement.

It's crazy when one thinks about it. Schizophrenia - you hear about those crazy people that take down loads of people with guns in america because of their apparent instability. Yet it isn't very well explained what it is, or the effects it has on a person. When I hear a shooter tagged with mental illness it makes my blood boil, because schizophrenics are more likely to be at the end of a nozzle than at the firing pin.

I once had a taxi driver explain to me about schizophrenics being scary people that emit several personalities. I said to him,

"Er, you're confusing that with Multiple Personality Disorder. A completely different issue"

Yet he was insistent that I was talking out of my arsehole. Some people will never listen, but, that's up to them.

So what is this mumbo jumbo I'm talking about? Schizophrenia and mental illness seems quite complex a subject when we think of it. The word schizophrenia alone sends shivers down the spine. But, when it comes down to the basis of it all, it's actually not that difficult to understand. And for the record, I hate tags.

I'll use myself as an example:

I was born to a dysfunctional family. My mum was a worrier, put other people's needs above her own and let people walk all over her. My Dad did the exact opposite of mum, walked over everyone and didn't give a fuck.

I was born into this, and, through the insecurity of mum, dad trampled all over me until I was barely a shell of an identity. We escaped in the end, but the maximum damage was done already. At that point in my life I had begun to form these routines in my head that would work for me for the rest of my life. This is what I imagined love and care was, it's what I was taught.

Armed with this information, I took my very dysfunctional ideals into school with me and formed friendships and built bonds between others around the fucked up shit I learned as an infant, and, it also played a big part in my decision making process.

From the not so great childhood, and crappy friends in my teenage years influencing me to make shitty decisions I then went on to create even more dangerous avenues such as drugs, and from there I became stuck in a perpetual cycle of not learning from my mistakes.

Because I had never been taught how to love and function properly in the first place. The game for me was disadvantaged from the start.

That for me is Mental Illness in a nutshell. The harshness of life that isn't generally experienced by the general population.

What I don't like though, is that now we have all these tags and labels for seemingly straight forward life issues. Hard to fix, but the idea that life plays a big role in Mental Illness should be more straight forward than these confusing tags.

When I was tagged with Paranoid Schizophrenia I honestly felt doomed. Doomed to fail. And at one point in my life I started to blame the illness for the way I was behaving, whereas if I was taking proper accountability then it would be entirely the other way around.

I just think we should say,

"Man, he's had a hard life" 

It's so much kinder than a label that we can use to confuse and segregate. 

Labels are new, remember. We didn't have schizophrenics 50 years ago! It's just another way to tag people and fit us into neat little categories.

For the record I am now a healthy member of society - so those of you that are reading this feeling useless, then take some pride in yourself that there is hope.

There's hope for us all :)

Sort:  

I have cPTSD and General Anxiety (GAD), and the trick is to stop seeing yourself as a mentally ill person, but rather seeing yourself as a person who has an illness. Living with a mental illness is a lot like living any other chronic disorder. Diabetics need shots and physical activity. We get pills and therapy. The stigma will slowly dissipate as people understand that "sane" is a very fluid definition. Like "normal".

Exactly - it's.. life. We're all beautifully imperfect :)

The mental illness diagnosis could be considered a death sentence to people in the past... They were shunned and exiled from society. Now, it seems everyone suffers from a little bit of something, so it is accepted a lot more than in used to be. Plus medication is better now than ever before...

Ah they were, I felt some of that as a 20 something young man. I think at my time we were just on the edge of a few marketing breakthroughs, thankfully for me!

what you publish is not crazy, we must be very prudent to obtain this material, excellent post congratulations

I don't like tags and labels either ans agree with you in that people like to put everyone is certain category. Hope that things are better for you now and yes there's is always hope!

They are - all well now! It's why my mantra and motto is positivity! :)

That is great! I am working on this and hope to be able to be at that level you are in. Reading your posts help me stay motivated and have hope.

That's really nice that you say that! Thank you, honoured :)

This may sound strange.
But what they call mental illness mostly seem to me, like normal reactions to traumatic situations someone has been in.
I would be worried if a person would not ever show any reaction, having been in traumatic situations. That to me, would come across as being mentally ill.

I'm not saying that someone who is dealing with a traumatic past doesn't need help with his or her "illness".

Wish you the best.

Mental illness is normal, you're right! We trivialise the issue when we give people labels :)

we should all cherish the life we have. I have PTSD because I had to follow orders from baby killers and was raped right after my Dad died...medically that equals PTSD. But I am still in the top 20% of my peers academically and I will never surrender the love I have for myself. I am fucking talented and so are you! We all need to stop pointing out the bad in people and start cherishing the good....like this amazing post of yours which will help inspire others <3 TY

Aw man, this attitude - come join us in project-positivity. We'd love to inspire you and similarly have you inspire us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81