Let positivty and change into your life.

in #life8 years ago

I love being positive. I love watching positive videos on YouTube, reading positive blogs and just generally watching people being happy.

I didn't used to be, though.

People would tell me, 

"Dude, your biggest enemy is yourself"

And I never understood what they meant by that. Never really. I just thought they were a big bunch of tossers and would get on with my day.

After all, what the hell would they know, right?

Silly tossers.

But the hard fact of the matter was they were right. I saw a quote today which was probably one of the best I've ever seen on this topic.

"Some people create their own storms, then get upset when it rains"

Best example I could think of: I talked about my friends behind their backs, and it involved a secret that shouldn't have been told - and then when they had caught wind of it - they rained holy hell down on my ass. And then I'd think,

"Why does the world always shit on me"

When in actual fact I was shitting on myself. 

It would have been much easier for me to keep my trap shut and respect the privacy of my friends, right?

And that's why I've learned through a combination of respect, openness and positivity that I have the best effect on other people, and not just myself.

I love tipping waiter(esses) more than I should

I walk old ladies across the street.

I ask someone if they need help.

I give to people when I really shouldn't do so

And many other good things.

Why?

Because I can and want to. It's the best feeling. Good for mind and soul to know that you've helped someone. I challenge you to go out of your way to help someone and not have them owe you anything.

Don't get me wrong I'm no superhuman. I can be lazy, unorganised, dirty, rude and sometimes downright nasty - and there's times when I can drive my partner right up the wall.

Yet I try.

I try to focus on the good in people, and hopefully through time the bad will heal too. I mean, I've just started keeping a tidy home - two years ago I'd have laughed at myself now.

Life is a continually learning cycle.

Don't let it be the reason you fall down and cry,

Let it be the reason that you live :)

Sort:  

Very good and inspiring post! Thanks for sharing ;D

Definitely true. Many steemians can relate it. Thank you for this nice post. Love it. Keep it up.

I try my best to be positive but life always catches up with me. I can just smile and hope that all that is bad will just go away ...somehow...maybe...

It will I expect. Keep smiling, keep helping, keep saying nice things to people. Thanks for saying something nice :)

The video is so fun :) HaHa

just as I said before: happiness is the ability to make worthless things valuable. stay positive and keep bringing it out to others. thanks :)

That's so true - thank you for your comment :)

I am all to familiar with being your own worst enemy. I got that asshole in check now though.

People should try to feel happy to please his fellow.

Being positive will help us to go through life better. I like to read books on personal development and like you I love to watch Ted Talks on youtube which are inspirational.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61228.86
ETH 2663.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54