Don't expect from life. Ride the waves. Make it what you want.

in #life8 years ago

My Mum spent most of my late teens in absolute tears.

See, we had a plan for me.

I was a straight A student at school. There was no doubt I was off to a good University and I was already in my School sports team. Football, to be exact.

I was going places.

My Mum had already started checking out the best Universities for my abilities. That, and also a good football team. She was already excited at the prospect that I would have been the first of her family to go out and do something with their life.

Times were different when she was young.

She came from a time when kids had to go out and work, even if they did display some intelligence. If you were unlucky enough to be born into a poor family, there was no choice. Even if you did have intelligence.

It was off to work to support the family.

She was SO excited.

She'd always boast to her friends how I was doing because their sons and daughters weren't making much of their selves.

It came as a punch in the face to her when I ended up a drug addict by 16. And that my grades had slipped from A to D, and that I had lost all hope of going to a University, never mind a good one.

The house parties we had when she was away. Full of drugs, alcohol and sex.

She didn't see it coming really.

I'm surprised it didn't send her off to the Psych ward if I'm honest.

Luckily I managed to get out of all that. I moved. I moved to a different country. And the friends and habits that I had slowly trickled ebbed off into nothing after that.

And luckily I ended up not knowing any drug dealers where I moved to. Frankly it wasn't that big a deal for me now that the social side wasn't there anymore.

But I did crave the alcohol

And boy did I abuse that stuff. Alone, with others, at parties, wherever.

And at 26 I stopped. You know the rest.

But you can't say for certain where you or your kids will end up tomorrow. So just don't plan ahead.

Never plan ahead. Life is such a rollercoaster of change, diversity, and difference.

What was here today may not necessarily be there tomorrow.

No-one thought I'd be a druggie alcoholic at 16.

But then again no-one thought I'd change at 26.

Ride the waves of life, don't try and push against it or keep thinking of the "way things used to be" because it'll never be the same again.

Be safe :)

Sort:  

There's a portuguese saying:
"There are more tides than sailors"
meaning opportunities come and go. We must be able to get the good ones and change bad situations :)

My yoga teacher was an ex-heroin addict, with all the old track scars on his arms. Some people are meant to live more, to give more. Peace

Yup, totally agree. Everyone helps in their own way to turn the world :)

The story matches your username somehow... life is experiences, life is ups and downs and life is awesome! :)

Thank you :) - I appreciate the sentiment :)

This is the struggle...on one hand it's great to plan, to save for something, to prepare. But not if we become attached to one certain outcome and our sense of worth depends upon the accomplishment. Maybe the trick is to save and plan but change and flow with what life actually brings as we go?

It's amazing how things can turn so quickly. But you have a positive perspective and that's a wonderful asset!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61334.44
ETH 2694.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50