How to prepare the perfect Pesto Genovese

in #food8 years ago (edited)

In this 4th Episode of COOKED I am going to show you how to make the world famous Pesto Genovese

You can buy everything you need in any supermarket, but using better ingredients will yield better taste.



Things to buy:

  • Pine Nut
  • Piece of real parmesan cheese
  • basil leafs (around 3-4 plants, if you buy plants. 200g if you buy them already in a pack)
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt
  • Garlic

    The Parmesan cheese will look like this



Prepare the leafs, get rid of the peduncle, use only the leafs


I always use the best olive oil I can find, as this will dramatically change the taste of the pesto.


Here are the pine nuts


*Roast the pine nuts until they are brown on both sides


Prepare a cheese slicer ( you can use a normal metal one too)


Slice the whole Parmesan cheese (if you use 4 plants or 150g of already harvested basil leafs)


this is perfect! now get them out


You will need a mixer to to shred everything


Get the pine nuts out of the mixer once they look like this


Put the basil leafs in the mixer and add olive oil


Add the complete basil and add more olive oil and mix it, until it looks like this


Add the sliced cheese (whole piece for 200g basil or 4 plants, or half piece for 100g basil / 2plants)

I like to add more cheese, so mine has a bit white color. Add 1/3 teaspoon salt and add garlic (garlic has to be pressed, only use 1 little piece of garlic) mix it again




Get your Pasta ready and enjoy!!!

I have learned this from a friends grandmother in Genova. So this is the real deal

Even in Italy, they fight over how the right Genova style Pesto is made, but I can guarantee your, that this is nothing like anything you have ever eaten before (if you didn't go to Genova) If you buy Pesto in a supermarket, they use cheep cheese and cheep olive-oil. And Pesto you can buy in Supermarkets tastes so awful! And even in Restaurants, I never had a really good pesto before.

Do you have your own pesto hack? Post it in comments, if you have a picture that would be awesome!


If you like my Post, please follow me!

I am blogging about the following topics :

I travel the world (Travel and Restaurant Blog)
Exposed (Uncovering Stories you need to know)
Lifehacks (How to save money, Introduction of cool products)
SPOTTED (Limited Edition Food and Drinks)
Steemperlen (German Version)
SQUEEZE (Interview Series)
COOKED (4 Episodes Cooking Series)

Sort:  

@knozaki2015

This is fantastic!
The only hard thing to find are the pine nuts

Walnuts can be substituted if pine nuts are unavailable.

Pine nuts you can buy in any supermarket

I think harder find a good olive oil.

you can use cheaper olive oil too. just check the label that it is cold pressed olive oil without any other oil mixed into it!

Thank you. If you add less cheese it will look even better because of the green color

I have learned this from a friends grandmother in Genova. So this is the real deal

Thank you for this! I just can't wait to try it!

It is very easy. Just add more olive oil or cheese until you like the taste

Looks easy.Thanks for the recipe.

It is super easy but the first time you taste this you will askyourself why the pesto in a supermarkt is called pesto...

I love pesto, this with alot of Parmesano must be good.

I once cooked this pesto for a friend who works in a 1star michelin restaurant. She told me that this was the best pesto she had in her life.... So I know it is the real deal ;)

Nice, i would truy it :)

yeah! very easy ;) so let me know once you tried it

Yummy! I felt hungry. Thanks for sharing it to us, on how to cooked pesto genovese. But I can't buy the ingredients in our country Philippines.

I am pretty sure olive oil and parmeaan cheese you have in the philippines too. If we do a meetup in the philppines i will prepare it for you

wow this looks so good. I love pesto

Hey! Next time I visit hamburg I will prepare this for you guys ;)

I hope so ;) see you soon

Great recipe! Clear post! However the parmesan cheese picture looks like a shard of ice/glass, due to the flash i guess :P

yeah. it's a very good original parmesean block (around 8$) but the flash destroyed the picture ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60637.64
ETH 2405.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60