SHARK REEF FUN!!

in #photos7 years ago (edited)

image

My 18 year old son and my future daughter in law bought his father and I tickets to a show at the MGM called KA and to an exhibit called the Shark Reef at Mandalay Bay.

image
*Image from Vegas Valley travel.com

image

  • pic from sharkreef.com

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------Welcome to the deep blue world of Shark Reef Aquarium.

Shark Reef Aquarium at Mandalay Bay is not your typical aquarium. It's a total sensory experience designed to transport visitors to an undersea ocean with fantastic sights, sounds and encounters. Featuring dangerous and unusual aquatic animals from the world's tropical waters, Shark Reef Aquarium takes visitors on a journey through an ancient temple slowly being claimed by the sea.

Fourteen breathtaking exhibits are devoted to dangerous aquatic predators. The largest exhibit is the 1.3 million gallon shipwreck where visitors experience an almost 360°-degree view, teeming with sharks and fish through an acrylic tunnel. The touch pool is a popular attraction, where guests can touch our ever-changing collection of animals including sharks , rays or horseshoe crabs. More than 2,000 animals are displayed at Shark Reef Aquarium, over 100 different species and featuring 15 species of sharks.

  • information above is from Sharkreef.com

My ex husband and I had so much fun...yes we are divorced but good friends..should be after 21 years together :)

[IMG][/IMG]

We saw so much life...we saw The Golden Crocodile...These reptiles have over 60 teeth that fall out and grow back again thousands of times in their lifetime.

image

And also we seen The Komodo Dragon..This is one of the largest species of lizards and can grow up to 10 ft and weigh up to 300 lbs...man that's big
20170620_181509~01.jpg

And yikes snakessss...20170620_181605.jpg

A few random pictures...20170620_181358.jpg

20170620_181758~01.jpg

and let's not forget the piranhas20170620_181805~01.jpg

And starfish and octopus. .
20170620_183529.jpg
20170620_191006.jpg

And lastly...I know what a loooong post ..sorry steemit I got carried away ..my three favorite exhibits 1. The jellyfish. ..I love them 2. Touching the sting rays..some were slimy and some were rough..but the Spreckeled one was my favorite one and of course 3. The tunnel!
Screenshot_2017-07-01-03-53-18~01.png

Screenshot_2017-07-01-03-57-05~01.png
The round ones are slimy

Screenshot_2017-07-01-03-57-11~01.png
My favorite one ...showing off :)

Screenshot_2017-07-01-04-09-37~01.png
*pic courtesy of sharkreef.com

I believe that this is a sand tiger shark..they have so many teeth in their mouth ...that they cant even close it..

Screenshot_2017-07-01-04-10-58~01.png

Well that's it...sorry such a long post ...I'm tired and really wanted to post tonight before bed..lol I'm on Vegas hours folks...I had fun..felt like a kid and learned alot ...I hope somebody enjoys it..goodnight all much love from me.. Kayleigh

Screenshot_2017-07-01-04-12-04~01.png
*courtesy of sharkreef.com

Sort:  

Nice pics. I dont know the last time I've been to the aquarium. Those Komodo Dragons will surprise you. They tend to move slowly but they're pretty fast

I'm a curious one but that was a little scary lol :) :)

Hey jetiknight I have a question maybe you can help me with...there was a real disrespectful comment left on my post "ALMOST THERE" I don't wish to fight like children because believe me in real life I would f*** his shit up...how can I remove it ?? Thanks :(

You cant remove the post, you can only hide the particular post from your own view or highlight the persons name and click the mute button. This is the "other" side of being on a decentralized platform that we have to deal with. There's virtually no sensoring of comments. You can flag a comment but there's no authority figure or anyway (that I know of atleast) to actually remove the comment or even ban the individual from your page. Best thing to do is to simply put him on mute if he's being an asshat.

Yes he is...thank you so much :) :)

UPvoted for the picture of the turtle at the end! Looks like a super fun spot!

Thank you @raybilson...it was a fun spot and I love the turtle too..I bought teal turtle souvenir from there...a paper weight I think ..again thank you so much :) :)

Thank you to everybody reading, upvoting and showing support to this newbie...you rock :) :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57850.91
ETH 2358.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43