THE PROPOSAL

in #the6 years ago

kissing-in-the-rain-picture-id638677636-2125541017.jpg

THE PROPOSAL

(Finding love in unexpected places)

The clouds rumbled in the sky accompanied by a series of thunder and lightning. Ade lay on her bed with a novel in her hand, the comfort of her duvet making her care less about the prevailing cold. Ade smiled in the middle of her reading, not because she read something funny but rather due to the memory of a spectacular event. The atmosphere seemed all too familiar, how can she not remember.


TWO YEARS AGO

It was the season of the year when rain gathers momentum. The rain had poured out its whole bowels and it appeared it was not contented yet as the drizzling of the rain became incessant.

Ade closed late from work. She was not the type that likes getting things done partially so she had taken privilege of the rain and sat back in the office to complete her secretary duty for her boss. Although she wouldn’t be queried if she decides to submit the proposal she was typing to her bosses’ desk much later, efficiency is her watchword.

By the time Ade got out of the office and was ready to go home, she was surprised to see only the security man at the gate with the parking space almost empty. “9:00pm!” she exclaimed as she checked her wrist watch. How was she supposed to get a bus home this late especially when it is raining? All those who could help her with a lift had gone home, Ade thought as she greeted the security men goodnight and strolled out of the company.

Ade walked to the side of the road with her heels on, she was too tired to pull them off even though they seemed uncomfortable at that moment. Ade stood by the side of the road hoping to get a cab to get her to the mainland. She was not really afraid, even though she was alone on the road, due to the assurance of security she was sure the estate has.

After waiting for about 20minutes with no hope of a cab, Ade decided to walk outside the estate although it was not so safe there. Suddenly, an abrupt driver of a Toyota Camry 2013 parked in front of her, startling her with the way he swerved the car.

He wined down and shouted “hop in, there’s a robbery going on down there, hurry hop in”

Without thinking twice scared Ade jumped into the car as the driver zoomed off. It was only while in the car that she began to think. What if the driver was the robber or a kidnapper? With the high rate of kidnapping going on in Lagos. She hoped she was wrong as she said the Lord’s prayer.

After driving for about 20minutes at maximum speed, they arrived the mainland and got stuck in a hold up. Suddenly, the driver of the car burst into laughter which lasted about 2minutes. Ade was shivering all over, God please help me she prayed silently as she watched her companion, perplexed.

“I’m sorry” he said when he finally stopped laughing, “I’m Michael. Actually, I sighted you afar off and you didn’t seem like you were going to oblige if I politely asked to give you a ride so I had to pull up something you know, teenage stunts.”

Ade was speechless, the memory of how she had fearfully jumped into his car played in her mind. Why had she believed that in the first place? For 10years straight the estate had not recorded any incidence of robbery after the last one though. How they were able to handle it is a story for another day.

At that moment Ade wished she had something really cold with her to pour on his face. How could someone as old or matured as he looked pull that kind of stunt. Well come to think of it if he hadn’t done that she might still be at the bus stop waiting for a cab.

So instead she just said thank you

“Wow! That’s a relief. Means apology accepted I guess? so can I know your name?”

“Ade”

“Ade? That could be my name you know” he said as he chuckled. “Is that seriously your name?” he asked smiling. At that moment Ade notice his face. It was a sweet face with a cute dimple sitting below his cheeks.

“Yes, its Ade” she affirmed

“Okay” he said “nice name anyway”

“So just say what’s on your mind”

“What?” Ade asked

“That you think I’m cute”

Ade laughed for the first time releasing the tension she felt first and showing off her beautifully structured set of teeth in the process.

You’re so cocky she wanted to say but she found herself laughing the more.

“Well I know right, almost every girl think so.”

“Thank God you added almost.”

“You look like you haven’t had dinner he said, you are obviously returning from work. So I’m asking, will you have dinner with me?”

“Thanks, but no thanks.” Ade said. They barely knew each other

“I already knew the answer to it before I asked. You seemed like a ‘no’ type of lady. Anyway I’m not angry but you just hurt my feelings and you know I’m not used to getting no for an answer”

Wow Ade thought, this guy is cocky, certified

“Anyway what about Saturday. I’m not used to saying please, but please? I’d love to see you again”

“I’ll think about it.” she said.

“your number?”

She sighed as she rolled out her digits and smiled

“Hope you don’t mind me dropping you at home?”

“I do thanks; I don’t want to bother you” Ade replied

“I knew you would say no, but for your information, I came all the way here because of you. I live on the estate. So just give me the directions. And just so you’d know, I have been stalking you for a while now!”

Ade just stared at him perplexed, obviously he had been studying her for a while!


PRESENT

Ade smiled as she saw Mike’s call on her phone, he was probably thinking about them too. The atmosphere was too familiar for them not to remember.

“hi love,” he said from his end “can you meet me outside?”

“its drizzling love, just come in”

“I know, and that’s why I’m asking you to, please”

“Mike!”

“I’m waiting.”

“you’re just impossible.” she said as she yanked the duvet off her body

The sight she saw as she stepped out of her apartment was beyond what she had ever imagined.

The scene was like one from Hollywood movies where scenes were carved out of planks and made to appear real. There was a rainbow at the extreme end of a hallway with petals of rose flowers all over the floor and the lightings was something beautiful. There was also a false wall surrounding the design making it look like it was a real building. Ife by flavour and chidinma was playing in the background.

Ade was stunned and her heart was beating so fast

Oh my gosh she I’m about to be proposed to!

“Ade, from the very first day I met you,” mike started to say from the point where he knelt at the extreme end of the hallway with a tiffany box containing a golden ring in his hand, in that voice that always thrilled Ade whenever she heard it.

“I have always hoped for this moment since the very first day I met you. You are everything I want in a woman,” he paused “your smile is something else, it brightens my world. Please don’t ever stop smiling. Ade mi, I want to be the crown that caps it all for you, I want to be the most special person in your life, I want to go through my life knowing you’re by my side. Ife mi, the only woman who calls my name the way I love it, well I’ve always prayed for that. Sunshine I want to love you forever! Will you marry me? please don’t say no.”

Amidst tears all over her face Ade said yes to the love of her life. She ran forward into his waiting embrace.

“I love you she whispered” joy choking her

“I love you more than I can explain, my love”

THE END

Leave a comment thanks..... thanks for reading.

*********INSPIRED 360*********

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95