Nicotine

in #poetry8 years ago

You died in my dream last night, 

And yet I didn’t wake up crying,

I wanted to feel somewhat sorry for you, 

But it hurt my head just trying,


I found my old suicide note,

I guess that makes me a liar,

I wish I could read what was written, 

But the words were like barbed wire,


I couldn't see the sun this morning, 

Cause it was covered by the clouds,

The world seemed to be cough-drop colored, 

But it was all ignored by lifeless crowds,


God struck me as a pessimist, 

But still I never saw his face,

I wonder if he was smiling, 

When he left without a trace,


I think we’re really all alone, 

And I feel for those who feel the same. 

It’s the things that make us human, 

That show us it’s a curse to have a brain,


Depression seems so artless, 

Am I really even alive? 

It feels so wasteful wasting time, 

I need to find a place to thrive, 


Maybe I’ll look for it tomorrow.   

Sort:  

Really nice writing! I'm glad for @fairytalelife 's repost! I'm following to read more :)

Thank you guys so much. I will be posting another poem tonight. This post isn't my best work, but feel free to check out my other poems. Check out my intro too it tells a lot about me, although us teen writers tend to be the same. I'm just so happy you enjoyed this poem.

IKR, I really can't thank @fairytalelife enough she has been a great supporter of my work. She was the one to really help me jump start my writing, and I owe her a lot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00