MADEIRA CAKE

in #food7 years ago (edited)

 Hi dear,
Permit me to say that there is relatively nothing so captivating than the aroma of goldenly baked Madeira cake oozing out straight from the kitchen oven. A special type of cake that is filled with goodness and baked to perfection for some delightful treat to anyone who cares to have it.

Going down the memory lane, growing up had always witnessed my sweet mummy coming home sometimes from the supermarket with some graciously packaged cakes that were somehow similar to the Madeira cakes. Although she barely bought these cakes quite often being health-conscious, but I can assure you that my kid bro and I used to enjoy 'em to the fullest each time she brings the cakes home.

Sometimes one or more than one but I can tell you for sure that we were always excited to have these aromatic, tantalizing cakes sitting comfortably on the dinning table waiting for everyone who cares to have some really sweet treats. Then, my mom would always slice them up into pieces for some fair share for everyone around.... obviously, the cakes were not just for my younger bro and I but as well for mom, dad, those living with us and sometimes with friends that came visiting. 

 Although I would sometimes want to eat more than one slices of the cake at a time but being too health-cautious, mom would always place a cap. I don't know about you but I can personally tell you for sure that I love cakes! Yes, I do!!! I've said it before and I'm reiterating it again and again and again....

But come to think of it my friend, I still ponder why some people claim they don't like cake, this is definitely difficult to accept. Apparently, they haven't really tasted the best of cakes or possibly they are still waiting for the heavenly cakes baked straight out from the sky. Whatever, it's their choice! But my only suggestion is that you if you fall into the category of cake lovers like me, don't make eating cakes a constant habit. 

 Before I forge ahead to share the Madeira cake recipe with you, let me just quickly mention that the cake is commonly believed to have been introduced by the people of the Madeira Islands and named after the Madeira wine (Portuguese wine). This Portuguese wine appeared to be a popular wine in England during that period and the wine and the cake were often served together.

Even though I know that my own Madeira cake do not taste exactly like the traditional ones made by the Madeiras, yet it still came out pretty well and served the purpose of a delicious Madeira cake I envisaged for. Madeira cake is sort of similar to a yellow cake or pound cake. Madeira cakes can be eaten alone or paired with juice, drinks, tea etc, just take it the way you like it. I can tell you for sure that the Madeira cake recipe is a no brainer at all, all you need to do is just; make a list of all the necessary ingredients you need, get the ingredients ready and then the rest is as good as done.... 

This Madeira cake is almost close to perfection because they came out of the oven looking tempting to eat, captivating and absolutely delightful. Flavourful and aromatic as every Madeira cake should be. Even with the addition of the maple syrup, this Madeira cake is actually not overly sweet-yyy. The taste is quite mild and exactly fits my bill... But if you want an extra sweetness, I think a teaspoonful or two of caster sugar would be an excellent addition.  

Ingredients:

  • 100g butter
  • 1 teaspoon maple syrup
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • 200g plain flour
  • 3 large eggs

 Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C.
  2. Grease and line a baking cake pan with baking cake parchment paper.
  3. Whisk the eggs until light and frothy.
  4. Sift the flour, baking soda, dissolved butter (not heated) and the maple syrup in a clean bowl.
  5. Mix the batter and then pour into the lined baking pan.
  6. Pop the cake batter pan into the preheated oven and bake for approximately 1 hour or until done and golden colored in appearance.
  7. Allow the cake to cool down before serving.
  8. B Watch the cake very closely while baking to avoid getting burnt. Once done, pierce the center with a skewer, if the skewer comes out clean then the cake is done.

Give this Madeira cake recipe a try and don't forget to share your opinion in the comment box.

Feel free to connect with me on my other social media platforms:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/globalfoodbook/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/globalfoodbook

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/globalfoodbook/

Google+: https://plus.google.com/+Globalfoodbook1

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/Globalfoodbook1

Please if you like this recipe, feel free to RESTEEM, UPVOTE and FOLLOW  @GLOBALFOODBOOK 

You can Read the Full Story Behind this Recipe Here.

Loads of Love From Blessing 

Sort:  

Thanks for this. I'm still working on my cakes, they still aren't coming out the way I want them to. I'll give this one a try on the weekend.

You are welcome. Practice makes perfect. Hopefully, they come out well the next time.
Give this a try and you'll enjoy it.

It looked delicious, you gave me hungry! Thanks for the recipe.
I follow u, follow me back if u want lot of fun and amazing picture every day.

Glad to know. You are welcome.
I have followed you back. Cheers

Mmmmmm you can't beat a good Madeira Cake :-)

Not at all... Thanks

it looks delicious :P

And tastes delicious too. Thanks

It looks great! Thanks for the recipe. I will give it try in the coming future :)Followed and upvoted! It would be great if you could follow me back.

Thanks for your kind words. I have followed you back to keep connected.
Cheers

I like a simple and good cake and your Madeira cake is going on my list. TFS.

Oh! Glad to know and thanks. I am following you to keep connected as you also have loads of delicious recipes.
Cheers

WOW, looks yummy!
Thanks for sharing :)

Tastes yummy too.
You are welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65809.08
ETH 3604.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54