Tonight my kids joined Dumbledore's army(featuring @hanshotfirst as author)

in #family8 years ago

Life lessons from a geek part 6


We are in this together!


Steemit has been absolutely amazing. I keep finding new reasons to love it. The latest being that my writing has lead to more entertaining dinner conversations. Well we used to call it "dinner". Now it's more of a game. One of the worst games in the history of time called: "For the love of all that is good and holy will you just eat your vegetables?!" (Is there an audio book read by Samuel L Jackson on this? If not, there should be).




Tonight my wife and I steadied our resolve as we prepared to begin the battle of wills (steadied our resolve = poured 2 tall glasses of wine). Everyone at the table knew where this was headed, so we tried to squeeze as much joy out of the pregame chitchat as possible. The conversations are usually pretty light hearted. My kids, give suggestions and ask questions. My wife and I try to sneak in the little life lessons we trying to teach our 11 year old son and 9 year old daughter. It's normally good wholesome family fun.

Tonight however, my kids finally confronted me about something that had been brewing for a few days.

They cornered me, and began to interrogate me. They kept repeating the same question. I felt like poor defenseless Superman as Batman repeatedly growled "Martha! Why Did you say that name?" (Except the scene in my kitchen actually made sense. By the way, who the heck calls their own mother by her first name?)





The question: "Dad, why haven't you written about Dumbledore yet?"

The only variation was when my son said, "Come on dad, he's the best!". "Yeah dad. He's awesome", my daughter added.

I had gone to my happy place to avoid the badgering. These statements brought me back.

They had just given me an actual excuse to use a line that every teacher wishes he could use in real life. I asked, "Can you explain that a little more?" And they fell for it! My son jumped in. "Dad he is one of the greatest 'literacy' characters ever (he meant "literary"... but he was excited and on a roll so I let that go until he took a breath). "Dad, he is like a Swiss army knife of characters. He is everything that every good character is... all rolled into one. " "What do you mean son?", I asked. (Ha! I knew what he meant, but I just wanted him to have to back up his argument. These teaching moments don't come along everyday you know.) "Well, he fills whatever role is needed. He's the comic relief, the hero, the wise old man, the risk taker, the crazy guy, the one with the most good quotes, the adventurer, and the protector". He made pretty good argument.




My daughter shot him a look that said, "You are so silly for missing the point." She then added, "He's all the best words to describe a person. He's kind, funny, nice, helpful, hopeful, brave, silly and he loves candy". (Her ability to judge character is why I'm confident she will choose a great person to marry some day... obviously one who loves candy).

I replied, "You see kids, I've already written about Harry Potter characters a few times. I'm trying to be more diverse. I don't want to get stuck on one topic. I am also trying to pick characters who are a little more "under the radar" like Neville and Mrs. Weasley (I even made air quotes. My kids love air quotes. Especially my daughter who doesn't quite know when to use them). Dumbledore is just way too obvious. Besides, there are just way too many things to write about him. It would be too long for a blog. It would be really hard to narrow it down."

My son laughed and asked, "Do you want to do what is easy or what is right?"





Curses! My boy had turned my own weapon against me! That line is my absolute favorite! I have said it to each of them at least 500 times. They had me.



Dark times lie ahead of us and there will be a time when we
must choose between what is easy and what is right.

Man I love that line!

Those words are at the heart of everything we are trying to teach our children. If the only lesson my children remember, is that they should always do the right thing, especially when it is difficult, then my wife and I have done our job. Every other lesson fits under this one umbrella. The rest of them simply fill in details and answer the question "what is right?". If my kids are the kind of people who try to figure out what is right, and then act accordingly, I will be the proudest father ever.

I made a quick deal with them. "If you eat your vegetables, I'll write about Dumbledore tonight."

Dumbledore's Army 1. Dad 0.





So as they ate their hamster-sized portion of peas, I asked them for some more examples. In-between nibbles, they obliged.

After listening to them rattle off examples, I noticed two things. Number one: they weren't eating their vegetables. Number two: perhaps the first lesson Dumbledore teaches, is that you must always "practice what you preach".

For my other geek life lessons, I have been able to identify a few "ah-ha" moments that one can use as a concrete example. But when it comes to Dumbledore, there are just too many. Each book has examples of Dumbledore following his own advice to choose what is right, rather than what is easy. (It seems my kids knew them all.)

I couldn't possibly list them all, so I asked my kids to come up with the top five lessons they learned from Dumbledore (I needed to leave some space for my special number six). Since this activity bought them even more time to not eat their vegetables, they obliged.

1. Discrimation and Racism are wrong.




"Harry Potter and the Goblet of Goblet of Fire(723)"



"You place too much importance, and you always have done, on the so-called purity of blood! You fail to recognize that it matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be! (GOF 708)"


2. Makes sacrifices for others.




"From the film Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince. Dumbledore drinks a painful poison
in an effort to gain what he and Harry need in order to defeat Voldemort.
He continuously fights through the pain so Harry won't have to.
"


3. Look for the the best in people.

This includes Hagrid, Snape, Malfoy, Madame Trelawney, and Ron (who is named a Prefect... instead of Harry).



4. Own up to your mistakes.






"I make mistakes like the next man. In fact, being — forgive me — rather cleverer than most men,
my mistakes tend to be correspondingly huger
. (HBP 197)”


5. Have hope and focus on the good things in your life.




"From the film: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban"



My son was right. Dumbledore is a Swiss Army knife of altruistic characteristics. But there is one that really hits home for me.

6. Everyone belongs and has value.




Let me win. But if i cannot win, let me be brave in the attempt.



Although he may be the one man band of geek life lessons, as a special education teacher, I have a soft spot for how Dumbledore treated Remus Lupin. When Remus was five, he was attacked and turned into a werewolf. His wizard parents were very concerned that he would never be able to attend Hogwarts with such a condition. They tried everything they could to cure him. But they failed. When his eleventh birthday rolled around, no one thought he had a chance of being accepted at Hogwarts. Excluding this child would have been easy. But Dumbledore, the Headmaster, chose to do what was right. Dumbledore "took precautions", created a special room in which Remus could transform, and welcomed the boy into the school. It's more difficult to educate someone who needs special accommodations... but it is also right. Dumbledore didn't throw out this little boy because he was different. He valued, nurtured and educated him. Eventually, he even hired him as a teacher. And of course, Lupin made him proud. Kids need to learn that. Kids need to truly believe that every person, no matter how much help he or she needs, has value. and should be respected. Dumbledore made sure to look for and find this value in everyone....because it was right. I truly hope my children will too.


Well, it's been about 4 hours. Better go check and see if my kids ate their seven peas...


Don't forget to Follow @hanshotfirst

@gavvet features authors to promote new authors and a diversity of content. All STEEM Dollars for this post go to the featured author.

Sort:  

"Do you want to do what is easy or what is right?"

Don't you love when the tables turn and your kids start calling you out?! It's a sign of good parenting. Nice work @hanshotfirst. You sound like a great dad. Great story too!

I'm a decent dad...but a below average mom. You should check out my Molly Weasley post for more on that. Lol

Seriously, thank you for the kind words.

Everyone is special and has value in their own special way that makes us all unique.

Agree 100%

Love the @hanshotfirst name. I just watched episode IV with the kids yesterday and had to explain to them how the version of the movie they were watching was wrong and why. That's kind of a weird conversation to have with a 5 and 7 year old, explaining why it's a good thing that Han just blew someone away who didn't fire first.

Anyway, I love these conversations with kids. I have similar ones with my own, including one recently that comes to mind with my 7yo about the economics of one of my iPhone games. I was trying to convince him not to spend his game money to hatch something since we were going camping and wouldn't be able to play it anyway, so it made sense to me to let it hatch on it's own. He blew me away with an in-depth economic analysis as to why (give a number of factors I wasn't aware of) if he hatches it now and does one thing with it, he'll end up (three days later) with more in-game money than he'd have otherwise along with the hatched beast. I was impressed.

And yes, you're not the only one to use various mechanisms to get kids to actually eat their dinner. Sometimes, it can be a bit crazy. :)

"had to explain to them how the version of the movie they were watching was wrong and why."
You are awesome! Lucas thought our kids couldn't handle the truth. Hans is a scoundrel sitting 2 feet away from a trained killer. No way he's letting Greedo fire a shot. What kids shouldn't handle is bad movie making!

Trend Wizard approved...... If only all parents were like that.

Oh I've got some good stories about me screwing up too. Teaching my daughter to ride a bike sure isn't going into the time capsule.

Loved it! As always! Keep up the great work!

From a guy that just finished reading Harry Potter and The Cursed Child with his daughter, this is much appreciated!!! There are a lot of life lessons in the books if you watch for them. Love the pics.

I'm reading it on a plane this Friday so no spoilers.

You're doing a good job, helping novice writers!
How I can communicate with you? I need support for my project

steem chat

ok, im already there. Whats next?

hi I like compartire the glass jewel

I love the originality and generosity of your philosophy!

Love it @gavvet . Have you read The Cursed Child yet? I'm worried that Harry is losing his power. What do you think?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60506.66
ETH 2400.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58