Nerves on which we rely, sometimes Lie... (pins and needles and brain freeze)(featuring @xxsenpaixsama as author)

in #nerves8 years ago

Our brains don't always do exactly as we please.

Kind of like when I sit at my desk trying to think of something I could write about.

enter image description hereImage credits

And then after five minute...

enter image description here
Image credits


Just like our brains, some times our nerves are sending mixed signals too.

Have you ever sat down and wondered what the chemistry behind your leg falling asleep and that excruciating pain left behind by the pins and needles was or exactly how brain freeze works?

enter image description here
Image credits

I was loitering around with some friend and we came to a place where it had the most amazing view in the area. We decided to sit down and after a while I felt the pins and needles creep up on me.

My first attempt at standing put me right back in my seat with a THUMP. I then asked my friends to help me up. I used them as supporting pillars until the feeling in my legs came back. Then I had the feeling the pins and needle start and oh boy did that hurt a lot.

This experience gave me a brilliant idea that everyone could relate to. Finally I had something to write about and it came when I least expected it. That's often how inspiration works I just needed to find more content to put with it.

About a week later I was out with some friends at the movies and ordered an EXTRA-large slushy.

I slurped at it while pondering on what I was planing to write on steemit and then my train of thought was rudely interrupted by the cold burning of brain freeze centered just behind my eyes and in the middle of my head.

This gave me more inspiration for my post.

Pins and needles

Scientifically known as paresthesia.
Temporary paresthesia is what we all experience when we put to much pressure on the nerve bundles in our limbs.

This stops the communication between the nerves and your brain, but not only that, the pressure stops the blood flow through the blood vessels in these limbs, starving the nerves of oxygen.

When the pressure is relieved the blood flows back and the nerves start to send streams information to the brain again.
enter image description hereImagecredit

REF:http://www.bbc.com/future/story/20151116-why-do-we-get-pins-and-needles

Brain freeze

Scientifically known as sphenopalatine ganglioneuralgia.
Brain freeze occurs when some thing cold touches your palate, this over stimulates nerve bundles which send signals to "turn on the heat" which make the blood vessels dilate and swell up.

The dilation of the blood vessels triggers pain receptors, which release pain-causing prostaglandins, increase sensitivity to further pain, and produce inflammation while sending signals through the trigeminal nerve to alert the brain to the problem.

The trigeminal nerve is also responsible for sensing facial pain, the brain miss interprets this signal from the palate and thinks its coming from the forehead.

This 'referred pain' only starts about 10 seconds after chilling your palate, and only lasts about 30 seconds.

Only 1 third of the population experience brain freeze from eating or drinking something really cold, but most people can get a similar stimulus from being exposed to a very cold climate in a short space of time.

REF:http://chemistry.about.com/od/howthingsworkfaqs/f/how-brain-freeze-works.htm

enter image description hereImage credit

The sensation of both of these anomalies are among my least favorite sensations, and they always come at the worst possible moment and like most pain seems at the time like it will last forever.

Sort:  

Best thing you'll ever see: a cat having brain freeze

For some reason ... ...I am am so tempted to find out more about this!
Where's a cat!?, Who has a cat!?, ... Come here kitty... lol

Good Post
^upvoted!

Interesting post!

Very interesting, thank you for sharing.
I experienced something more extreme when I got Meningitis. My brain switched to subconscious mode over the conscious mode that I/we are more used to. Remember not feeling well, going to lie down. Next thing I remember is waking up or coming back days later on a hospital bed!
Scary in one sense and incredibly amazingly interesting in another!

yeah that must've been quite a shock I hope you had a sound recovery

I disagree with this fragment,

and they always come at the worst possible moment

Through trial and error, you known when these two feelings will come. It's not a spontaneous feeling like hiccups. So they can't come at the worst possible moment, you allow it to come at the worst possible moment.

but why would you want it at all