How I ended up as a good teacher with my own good teaching skills./ Paano ako naging mabuting guro na may mabuting kakayahan sa pagtuturo. (Featuring new author @themanualbot)

in #teaching8 years ago (edited)

I never thought that I could be a teacher for a year after I decided to drop out from college. Thanks to my professor, Ms. D (D stands for her surname) and to our Dean for encouraging me to pursue another career in life and that is, TEACHING.

Di ko akalain na magiging guro ako ng isang taon pagkatapos kong huminto sa pag-aaral ng koleheyo. Salamat sa propesor ko na si Ms.D at sa aming Dean sa paghimok sa akin na magpatuloy sa ibang karera at yan ay ang PAGTUTURO.


I dropped out from college not because of financial instability but because I dont feel like to be an engineer at all. I am not dumb though and I actually earn many merits during my time in college. I even became a head of a tutorial organization, EMO (Engineering Mathematical Org.). I teach freshman during my 2nd year in college and teach sophomore during my 3rd year and later became the head of the Org. But things changed when I enter my 4th year in college.

Tumigil ako sa pag-aaral di dahil wala na kaming pera kudi dahil napapansin ko na di na ako para sa kurso ko, ang pagiging inhenyero. Hindi naman ako bobo sa katunayan nga marami akong parangal na nakuha at naging Puno pa ako ng isang Organisasyon sa pagtuturo. Nagtururo ako ng mga first year at second year. Pero lahat ay nagbago pagpasok ko sa ika apat na taon.

I left the Organization and passed the responsibility to another deserving student. My subjects were getting harder and harder and I really need to focus; but not when jealousy came upon my classmates and started bashing me and doubting my ability like I dont deserve all compliments thrown at me.

Iniwan ko ang Organisasyon at pinasa ang pamumuno sa ibang mapagkakatiwalaan nito. Ang mga asignatura ko ay pahirap ng pahirap. Kailangan kong mag pukos. Pero naging mahirap lalo ng napapansin ko sa mga kaklase ko ang inggit nila sa akin at mga pagdududa sa mga kakayahan ko.

One day, our Dean announced the list of students that will be representing our school for National Quiz Bowl for Engineers. I didn't expect my name would be called but what I expect after was the reaction of my classmates. And guess what, they were like "Oh! C'mon, we lose!". I was wondering what I have done wrong with them. And at that time, I am not happy anymore and I finally decided to quit. Yes, I know it sounds so stupid for giving up and how I wish I never did that; but I chose the path that I think will make me happy. Everything happens for a reason.

Isang araw, ang aming Dean ay nag anunsyo ng balita. Inanunsyo nya ang listahan ng mga kalahok na mag rerepresenta sa aming paaralan sa darating na Quiz Bowl ng mga Inhenyero. Di ko inasahan na matatawag ang pangalan ko pero ang inasahan ko pagkatapos matawag ang pangalan ko ay ang reaksyon ng mga kaklase ko. Para bagang sinasabi nila na "Ano ba yan! Talo na tayo." Doon ako nagdesisyon na titigil na ako dahil di ko kaya sila at di na ako masaya sa ginagawa nila. Alam ko stupidong tignan na tumigil ako ng dahil don; pinili ko lang ang daan kung saan ako magiging masaya. Lahat ng bagay ay may rason kung bakit ito nangyayari.

The day I quit schooling is the day that marked the start of my teaching career./Ang araw na tumigil ako ay ang simula ng bago kong karera sa pagtuturo.

8 months as a Math teacher/8 na buwan na naging guro sa Matematika


Our Dean contacted me after 1 week from the day I dropped out from studying. He said that he have something to offer for me; that I will be teaching students taking technical vocational courses. He also added that the rate would help me go back to studies (like i have plans to). That time I thought they were thinking I had financial concerns. I accept the offer, of course. I teach them Algebra, Geometry, Trigonometry and Basic Calculus. Two months for each subject. It is a long period to spend time teaching but atleast I would be happy doing so. And thank God, I didn't make the wrong decision. I did enjoy my 8 months teaching them. The way they appreciate my efforts was very overwhelming. They express courteous regards every after successful 2 months of teaching a certain subject. They respect me so much and I thank them for that, humbly. At the end, I saw their big smiles as they received their certificate of compliance; and the way they looked at me, is a look of a happy and thankful individual.

Sa panahong ito, naging guro ako sa mga studyanteng kumukuha ng Teknikal at Bokasyonal na kurso. Tinuturuan ko sila ng mga ibat ibang sangay sa Matematika. Dahil ito sa aming Dean na binigyan ako ng trabaho para daw mapatuloy ko yung aking pagtuturo. Dito ko nakita na nirerespeto ako ng mga tao lalo na nga mga studyanteng tinuturuan ko. Malaki ang kanilang pasalamat sa ginawa ko sa kanila. Sa huli nakuha nila ang gusto nila, ang matuto.

4 months being a Full-time teacher/4 na buwan na naging guro


A week after my last class as a Math teacher, my professor before, Ms. D contacted me. I wasn't expecting that she would be offering something for me like what my Dean did. I thought my journey as a teaching personnel would end after my 8-month experience. So, she asked me if I could do a full-time teaching for two highschool students for 4 months. At first, I was hesitant because I'm expecting teaching them various subjects which is not at my scope of expertise. But, later on, I accept the offer. I'm thinking about earning money while enjoying the job.
This two students came from a well oriented and respected families in our place. They were on their 4th year in secondary level. This time I'm teaching them Advanced Algebra, Basic English Pronunciation and Grammar, and Sciences. I forgot to mention, they were Chinese.
I dont know if I did teach them well especially on English thing. Yet, in the end, they were all set to go abroad for their college. I think, I did an awesome achievement for them and for myself also.

Pagkatapos ko sa walong buwan ko sa pagtuturo di ko akalain na meron pa palang darating. Tinawagan ako ng propesor ko at binagyan ako ng bagong trabaho. Magtuturo daw ako sa dalawang batang intsik ng Matematika, Ingles, at Syensia. Di ko alam kung naturuan ko sila ng mabuti lalo na sa Ingles ang alam ko lang ay handa na silang mag koleheyo sa ibang bansa.

For all the praises I heard during my teaching career, I told myself "enough, you have done well". After that, I became a CAD designer and that's another story to write and share.

Sa lahat ng papuri na narinig ko sa pagtuturo ko, nasabi ko rin sa sarili ko na "tama na, marami ka nang nagawa". Pagkatapos ay naging CAD designer ako at ibang storya na yun na ibabahagi.

I learned a lot from my experiences as a teacher. Even though I never finished my college or didn't have any Master's Degree earned, I am proud of myself. Going back that time, I was wondering how did I became a good teacher; and how I understand good teaching skills are as follows:

Marami akong natutunan sa aking karanasan bilang guro. Kahit na di ako nakapagtapos o nakakuha ng mataas na Degree, naging proud ako sa sarili ko. At dahil ito sa mga kakayahan ko na natutunan ko sa pagtuturo.


Good teaching is as much about passion as it is about reason. It is about not only motivating students to learn, but teaching them how to learn, and doing so in a manner that is relevant, meaningful, and memorable. It is about caring for your craft, having a passion for it, and conveying that passion to everyone, most importantly to your students. It is about doing your best to keep on top of your field, reading sources, inside and outside of your areas of expertise, and being at the leading edge as often as possible.

Ang mabuting pagtuturo ay isang pasyon na mahigit pa sa isang rason. Ito ay kung paano mo hawakan ang kagustohan mo na magturo sa mga studyante mo. Hindi lng ito tungkol sa pagtuturo kudi kung paano matuto. Ito rin ay tungkol sa pag gawa mo sa abot ng iyong makakaya na higit pa sa saklaw ng iyong kakayahan.
Moreover, good teaching is about listening, questioning, being responsive, and remembering that each student and class is different. It is about eliciting responses and developing the oral communication skills of the quite students. It is about pushing the students to excel; at the same time, it's about being human, respecting others, and observing professionalism at all times.

Mabuting pagtuturo ay tungkol sa pakikinig, pagtatanong, pagiging maalerto, at pagtatanda na ang lahat na tinuturuan mo ay ibat iba sa aspeti ng kakayahan,karunongan at pag-uugali. Ito ay tungkol sa pagiging makatao, marespeto at pagiging propesyonal sa lahat ng oras.

Furthermore, good teaching is about not always having fixed agenda, but being flexible, and having the confidence to react and adjust to changing circumstances. It is about getting only 10 percent of what you wanted to do in a class done and still feeling good. It is about deviating from the course syllabus or lecture schedule easily when there is more and better learning elsewhere. Good teaching is about the creative balance between being an authoritarian dictator on the one hand and a pushover on the other.

Ang pagtuturo ng mabuti ay di dapat nakalatag na lahat kung anu ang gagawin. Kung minsan dapat ka palaging handa sa lahat ng anu mang mangyari. Dapat may alam ka sa anu mang bagay, pagiging versatile. Ito rin ay tungkol sa pagiging malikhain sa pagbalanse ng mga bagay-bagay.

Then, effective taching is not about being locked with both hands glued to a podium or having your eyes fixated on a slide projector. Good teachers work the room and every student in it. They realize that they are the conductors and the class is the orchestra. All students play different intruments and at verying proficiencies.

Ang epektib na pagtuturo ay di nag lilimita sa iyong kakayahang magturo. Dapat ikay isang guro na resourceful. At dapat isipin mo na ikaw ang kundoktor sa isang orkestra at ang mga studyante ang mga instrumento na dapat mong bagayin at turuan ng mabuti.

In addition, good teaching is about humor. It's about being self-deprecating and not taking yourself too seriously. It is often about making jokes., mostly at your own expense, so that ice breaks and students learn in a more relaxed atmosphere where you, like them, are human with your own share of faults and shortcomings.

Ang mabuting pagtuturo ay di dapat palaging seryoso, kung minsan dapat mong magpatawa para sumigla ang mga tinuturuan mo. Dapat maging konekted ka sa iyong mga studyante.


Next, good teaching is about caring, nurturing, and developing minds and talents. It is about devoting time, often invisible, to every student. It's also about the thankless hours of grading, designing or redesigning courses, and preparing materials to still further enhance instruction.

Ang pagtuturo ng mabuti ay mapag-alaga sa mga tinuturuan niya. Paglaan sa oras na dapat lamang sa pagturo na di kailangan makita ng iba.

Also, good teaching is about mentoring between senior and junior faculty, teamwork, and being recognized and promoted by one's peers. Effective teaching should also be rewarded, and poor teaching needs to be remediated through training and development programs.

Ang mabuting pagtuturo ay tungkol din sa pagiging mabuting guro. Dapat may teamwork sa ibang guro. Dapat pinupuri kung mabuti at dapat ayusib kung hindi.

Lastly, teaching is more than just a job, more than an intellectual challenge, more than a management task, for whom vocation and commitment are essential features of their professionalism. It is for teachers who are concerned through their work, with education in its broader sense, who acknowledge that emotional engagement and care are essential to good teaching, who are committed to service, and who are, have been or wish to be again, passionate teachers.

Ang pagtuturo ay mahigit pa sa isang trabaho, mahigit pa sa matalinong pagsubok, mahigit pa sa isang gawaing pinamumunuan.


Teaching can be the most personally rewarding professions a man or woman can undertake. However, a few realize the true essence of teaching. So, what is then a good teaching? Is it about expertise in strategies? Mastery of the content? Good command in language? Good classroom management? These are only a few to mention about good teaching. But one thing that I am sure that makes a good teaching and that is "Passion in Teaching".

Ang pagtuturo ay pedeng bagay na pede mong maibigay sa iyong sarili bilang gantimpala, lalaki ka man o babae. Subalit iilan lang ang nakakaalam sa kung anu ang tunay na kahulugan nito. Isa lang ang nasisiguro ko na ang mabuting pagtuturo ay "Pasyon sa Pagtuturo".

Please follow me @themanualbot

@gavvet features authors to promote new authors and a diversity of content. All STEEM Dollars for this post go to the featured author.
@themanualbot is part of my current effort to promote foreign language writers writing in English and another language

Sort:  

Inspiring and it rekindles the teaching fire in me as well, than you! Namaste :)

Formal education will make you a living. Self-education will make you a fortune!

I will make this one of my best quotes :)

@gavvet Love your initiative, Hoping to be part of it soon

Thanks, informative article, it is necessary to develop anytime and anywhere.

Yeah and I know you can do it too.

That is quite a journey. Throught your own choices, and struggles, p[eople still believed in you and helped you. its ovious you were ment to teach. I feel if the doors keep opening like they did for you, even when you might not have wanted them to- that THAT is destiny, a reason you were put here.
I love that you gave us translation here too. Very helpful, and also shows youre a wonderful teacher. You see what one needs and you give it.
Yes- you are right on. Teaching is a passion. It demonstrates that. If it doesnt, I would hope those kind of teachers would leave the system. They take theur students down.
teacher like you, as demonstarted here. (I like the pictures too- they show the passion and care) Are the kind that live on in their students hearts and minds till the day we leave this earth.
I have many, teacher luckily, that helped me, created passion in me, and pushed me towards what Ifeared, but they new it was my calling.
With out good teachers, we would lose many wonderful creations, teachings, knowledge, joy etc.
teachers are important, not just for teaching the books, but for who they are around that need to teach. Their hearts,
Thank you for sharing this. I love seeing your passion. With that we know the world will chnage because of you, beacuse of how you will affect your students.
Continue on as you are, the rewards for all will be many.
Proud of you and how your journey turned toward the best it could be for you.
Cheers! to you. Teach on, with a passion!

Wow! thank you for that heavy comment. :) Love it!

Everything happens for a reason. :) Случайности не случайны... Вы очень смелый человек, так открыто пишите о себе. Это здорово! Жаль, что я читаю это на коверканном переводе гугла :)))

Nice post with Philippines language @gavvet

Great post! I taught for a year and much of this resonates with me. Teaching taught me a lot! Especially how to laugh at myself. It makes everything easier. Very insightful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44