The Gettysburg Address par avion

in #history8 years ago (edited)

In 1993, the Huntington Library began working on a big exhibition featuring Abraham Lincoln. My husband was the library’s American history manuscript curator. His task was to make it spectacular. For the first time in the library’s history, its main exhibition hall would be cleared for this historic event.


The Last Best Hope of Earth catalog

What treasures would be featured! Louise Taper, a friend of ours, decided years before that she would start a collection of Abraham Lincoln manuscripts and artifacts. She contributed Lincoln’s top hat, blood stained handkerchief from the assassination, White House china in use during his presidency, and locks of hair that belonged to Abraham and Mary Todd Lincoln's deceased son Willie – not exactly a stamp collection. Our running joke at the time was that she was probably the only resident in Beverly Hills who owned a second house in Springfield Illinois, Lincoln’s birthplace. Louise also sought items that belonged to John Wilkes Booth and his brother, Junius Brutus, both acclaimed actors of their time. Her house was a museum filled with costumes they wore, as well as their own personal effects. It was astonishing.

The Huntington Library asked my husband to fully organize this exhibition. This job required many trips to Springfield to meet with the state historical library in order to arrange secure transportation of objects and papers from their priceless collections. One item, however, could not be shipped. It was far too valuable. I am speaking of the original Gettysburg address. Incredibly, I had the honor of carrying it in my lap from Illinois to Los Angeles. It had to be carried in person.


The Gettysburg Address used in the exhibition - Illinois State Historical Library

How exhilarating to be responsible for this piece of history! The flight attendant wanted me to put it in the overhead compartment. I explained that was not a possibility. She abided my request to leave it in my lap, though she did not know what was in the carefully bound parcel. I felt its energy permeate my whole body. I know that sounds weird, but I have no other way to describe the feeling. Any onlooker would have thought I was protecting my first born child.

How many people can say they travelled with the Gettysburg Address on their person? It was one of the most exciting things I have ever done.

When we landed, armed guards were waiting to take the document from me and deliver it into the Library’s hands for safekeeping.

Here are some of the highlights form the exhibit. It was a huge success.


Lincoln's top hat - one of Louise Taper's triumphs. Can you imagine owning this?


China from the White House during the Lincolns' presidency, photograph of son Willie Lincoln, who died in the White House in 1862, with a lock of his hair, Taper collection


Personal effects of Mary Todd Lincoln, including a chamber pot - Taper and Illinois State Historical Library collections


Abraham Lincoln signed photo, Taper collection

I don't think our nation has fully recovered from that fateful night of April 15, 1865 when Abraham Lincoln was assassinated at Ford's Theater.

"Fellow-citizens, we cannot escape history....The fiery trial through which we pass, will light us down in honor or dishonor, to the latest generation....In giving freedom to the slave, we assure freedom to the free-honorable alike in what we give, and what we preserve. We shall nobly save, or meanly lose, the last best hope of earth."
Abraham Lincoln, December 1, 1862

Portrait of Abraham Lincoln © Johanna Westerman 1994

Sort:  

important for STEEMit :
"I'm a success today because I had a friend who believed in me and I didn't have the heart to let him down." Abraham Lincoln
"Always bear in mind that your own resolution to succeed is more important than any other." Abraham Lincoln

What a wonderful piece @fairytalelife! What an honor it must have been for your husband and for you (and wow to carry it!) to work with this piece of history.

Unbelievable! Being that close to history must have been awe-inspiring. You chose the right name - @fairytalelife definitely fits the kinds of things you've been writing about. Thank you so much for sharing this.

Thanks, @beowulfoflegend (that name!!!). It was unbelievable. I'll never forget it.

Nice post:).I bet there were some nerves on that trip. Maybe you felt like a rottweiler guarding its property, or maybe a Macaques protecting its baby. Whichever I am sure it must have been a little nerve racking but at the same time psychologically rewarding.

All of those, yes @cryptoiskey. I was holding on to that one for dear life.

I've seen few posts like these. I love the idea of history being documented on the blockchain! #history

Thanks, @madhatting (love your name!) Let's see what happens. I think Mr. Lincoln would be pleased to be a part of things.

I think many of our forefathers would be proud at the level of transparency we are achieving globally. =)

Yet another knowledge nugget from @fairytalelife. Thank you for the quality post!

Well thank you, @skyefox. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

What a great post! I´m looking forward to your stories!
fairtale ! i created a post pls tell me your opinion
https://steemit.com/water/@carfreak/how-to-save-money-by-simply-drinking-water-not-only-bottle-water-calculation-it-also-makes-your-eyes-wide-open

Your consistency in providing quality content is inspiring! Thanks for sharing your truly unique experience @fairytalelife -- your excitement and reverence is palpable!

That is so kind of you, @gardenofeden. Thank you! I've never written about any of my experiences before so I appreciate the encouragement.

I enjoyed another of your quality post. Thank you!

Thank you, @team101. I'm happy to hear it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60608.55
ETH 2411.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59