A Steemian’s Guide to Submitting Art Posts

in #art8 years ago (edited)

My desk where I do paperwork.

It’s about time artists have a place to get their work seen and appreciated by fellow creatives. And it’s almost a guarantee you get to build up connections with your audience on steemit. Nothing is more rewarding when you post something you drew or painted and then hear how it touched someone else.  And of course, it's great to be compensated for it.  

I had never posted my work online in a blog format before July of this year. Sure, I occasionally put up my latest finished paintings on FB, but never my work in stages from start to finish. Steemit taught me by trial and error what works and what doesn’t, so I thought I would offer some ideas to consider that will help give your artwork a better chance of getting noticed and remembered.  

Artists are usually a private bunch. We seldom show our process in all its unfinished glory. I used to think that stuff was better kept behind closed doors. 

Before the internet, few had the privilege of seeing an artist’s body of work come into fruition. Galleries were where you paid your respects to the finished pieces. Times have changed. The internet is a boon to artists if you know how to channel its power. And for steemit, process trumps all. 

Lucky for you, readers are waiting to see how you go about creating your masterpieces.   

Maybe you have some sketches of a project in mind. Take us to your drawing table.

Some bees that I arranged into a pattern for textile design - awaiting to put into a repeat. I'm not sure when I will get to this. 

What inspires you? Show the tools of your trade. 

Do you have to draw with a certain kind of pencil? Tell us about it.  

Here's a selection of lead holders, leads, and my knife to trim erasers (Factis is my favorite). I also use a big wash brush to rid my drawings of eraser shreds.

An assortment of brushes ready to be put to work.

A stone age relic in my studio - the good old fashioned Artograph projector. This is how I transfer my working sketches on to the good paper or board.

What about the brand of paint you use? Tell us why you prefer it above others.  

My container of watercolors. I am particularly fond of the Holbein brand.

Do you work digitally? Which software do you use and why? Are there sketches you do ahead of time? Show the stages; screen shot your layers.  

What do you collect? The things we keep around us when we work reveals a lot about who we are as artists. 

 

I adorn my easel with beasties from my children's trip to Thailand.

From our Italian extravaganza in April - my beloved masks. They make me happy when I look up from my work. 

Other questions you may wish to consider addressing in your posts:

What frustrates you about the work you do?

What are your best times of day to do your art? Do you work better in the morning or are you a night owl?  

What do you do when you get stuck? 

What kind of music do you listen to? 

My personal favorite - forever Tchaikovsky.

What are your favorite books?

Here is a fraction of my reference books. I can't live without my books. (Why do I have a Land Cruiser manual on the bottom right? I don't know. I sold my Land Cruiser six years ago - this is waiting for Ebay.)

Who do you look up to and admire in your field, and what did he or she teach you?

Show us your rejects. What were you hoping when you started a piece and what went wrong?   

The more we see of the ways you work, the more you become a person whose art we want to connect with. 

What kind of story do you tell with the way you work?   

Document it all for us to see. All of it. I was terrified of doing this. But once I did, it was a cathartic experience. The only way to get your art out there and appreciated is by sharing it - sharing the whole process. We can’t care if we don’t know what makes you tick. Your work does not speak for itself. It may be impressive as a finished piece. But it’s sterile. It’s a mere representation of what you are capable of. Show us how it evolved and demystify the art making process.

What's inside one of my flat file drawers? Sketchbooks naturally, among other things.

Some technique may be obvious to other artists. Explain your work as if you were talking to an alien. Don’t assume everyone knows what may be second nature to you. They really don’t have a clue. The other benefit of showing your process is the ability to escape critics who may not believe your work is your own.  Adapt these tips into your posts and you will see a big difference in how your viewers respond to you. 

And by all means, become active in steemit.chat. It's a great way to follow up on what's going on, and the art channels are buzzing. Be sure to reach out to others for support, and be willing to give it as well. Teach something you just learned. It might take some time initially.

By consistently posting your work, you will attract the kind of followers you want - the ones who can't wait to see what you are up to next. 

If you are having trouble or want more specific help, I can be found in steemit.chat in #artstudio

So go get your work out there!

Johanna

Sort:  

Great guide! And music selection :)

Thanks, Adil. Little things make all the difference, don't they?

It's great to see where the magic happens! : )

Editing out the messy parts, of course. Thanks, Eric!

Nice post, but feels like peeping through the keyhole ;D

That's because you are, @richman. If I showed you my actual working surfaces where I draw, you would see nothing but chaos and disorganization. :)

You inspired me to clean up my desk )))

Nice guide, thanks a lot!))

I'm glad you enjoyed it, @borishaifa. Thank you.

Great post, this is very useful to artists starting out on here

Thank you, @opheliafu! I hope it will be helpful.

A different view. Traditionally, art and the mysterious artist are set apart just as books and the author are set apart in order not to distract from their expression.
What the soul perceives in their work is different than what the eye perceives from their physical presence, opinions, etc.
There are many artists and authors from the past with whom we may not agree with their opinions, however we can certainly enjoy and treasure their work.

You make a good point, @bleujay. I think there's room for some mystery. But today we are less connected with others than ever before, despite being completely "available" at all times electronically. I think people are hungry for those connections that once were easier to come by when technology wasn't so pervasive.

I have sucrificed my bedroom for my paintings I sleep on the living room instead as I am into oil's I can't sleep there because of the white spirit odour.
I want to post a picture of my work space but I know I will be made fun off. :D

I don't think artists would make fun of anyone's studio space. Everyone's working environment is unique to them. It is a bit like revealing part of your soul, yes? So don't feel @skapaneas like you have to reveal anything you are not comfortable with. I think it's a beautiful sacrifice that you put your creativity above the social norm of sleeping arrangements :D

Exactly, @opheliafu. It IS a beautiful sacrifice. Our living arrangements are what they are in order to create.

That's the mark of a real artist, @skapaneas! No one will make fun of you, I promise. Where you work is sacred ground. :)

thanks for sharing part of your studio and tools

Thank you for reading, @gringalicious. I'm glad you liked the post.

very good advices @fairytalelife when the viewer sees the artist's environment, they become a little closer. you have a very comfortable and well-organized workplace.
Noticed matryoshka dolls on one of your shelves, have you bought them when you were in Russia?

Hi @nekromarinist. Thank you. I thought of you when I posted that picture. Yes, in fact I did buy them in Russia. They are some of my favorite things.

I LOVE that - 'demystify the art making process.' It is very true. I run a little handmade recycled gallery shop and the first thing I tell new artisans stocking in my shop is that it is the story behind your product that people are buying, not the product itself. Art is about narratives and the one behind the scenes is captivating. Thanks for this post!

Thanks, @bridgetbunchy. It's true. I learned this after years of being secretive about the ways I work. It's all about the story behind the work, isn't it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57810.45
ETH 3116.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43