ONE LAST LONG LOOK (An Original Poem)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

One last long look,
an over the shoulder glance
and a sigh as I try
to take it all in
before I close the door
and say goodbye

such memories,
once you were vibrant,
so full of our life
a shelter from the storm

you once housed our hopes
as we watched the world
though your panes
in all its seasons pass

one last long look
has now left you, bare,
revealed for what you are
just a shell, awaiting
the next souls who
will breathe some new and
different life into you

the door now forever
closes with a click
the time has come
to move forward
as our hearts eagerly seek
a brand new home.


The last picture taken of a home we lived in for almost ten years before it was sold the next day


I hope you're enjoying the poetry! If so, the best compliment you can give is to share my work with others, either face-to-face or online. I appreciate your continued support!

Sort:  

Nice.

awesome lines "the door now forever
closes with a click"

Wow, a standing ovation! : ) Much appreciated!

Lagi asik nonton apa ya?

Each closing door...

@ericvancewalton shared on twitter and facebook i hope it helps and good job on the poem :)

Thank you very much!

Great poem, I can definitely relate as I moved many many times, from childhood up until now. We must cherish the memories and move forward to create space and opportunity for new ones. The home is where the heart is, and if the heart journeys forward, then your shelter is awaiting at your new destiny where you build another foundation to grow from. Upvoted

Wanna collaborate in making a beautiful poem mate ?
I have few poems I don't know are they good or not . Mind to check them out .
Seems like I'm too invisible to this community and yet we have another new update 5 votes per day gonna make it harder for me I think .

Do you have any ideas on how to collaborate?

As a fellow poet myself, I would suggest that you exchange emails or some form of communication, and @rainchen sends you his portion and @ericvancewalton sends his, once you both have agreed upon a certain theme, and have each of your halves ready, then you can interweave both of your writings on that topic rotating every line, or however you wish to structure it when it is completed.

Lovely house. Basement had any leaks?

Poems are better then prose.

Lantai yang sangat bagus
Saya berharap punya yang seperti itu
Juga

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61334.44
ETH 2694.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50