MEDITATION (An Original Poem)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

How lucid is your soul tonight
as guards are put to rest?
When not one is stirring ‘round you
and the sun is setting west,

your true being is emerging
as facades yield one by one
as you long to merge with oneness
and to greet the golden sun,

free from inhibitions imposed
by the mind you call your own
freedom from the past mistakes
that haunts your Earthly home,

cross-legged, in the lotus
you begin to clear your wearied mind
wishing for a sliver of a moment
to leave the struggle far behind

your pulse begins to slow
as the void becomes your breath
your heart begins to soothe you
ever-beating in your chest,

dancing somewhere in the stillness
breaking shadows far and near
where a worry’s no longer a worry
and a tear is not a tear,

a wave is all consuming
a bright beam breaks clouds above
you reach your precious goal
and for a moment become Love.


Original photo taken at the Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park in Sedona, Arizona.

Sort:  

Wow! Only great poetry and great music can express the joys of meditation. I do not often achieve the magic bliss that you talk about in your poem, but when I do, it is exactly how I feel! Thank you

Beautiful words.

We are our souls.

Love Peace & Freedom.

Peace, @richhorn. Thank you!

Meditation always make me feel calm and relax, its not just only help your physical being but it helps a lot of your state of mind. When busy doing your work everyday and felt like you are going crazy, take time to meditate, this will free your mind from worry. Like when you are posting a content on steemit and it never gain any rewards, just meditate.

Okay, I really like this one. Thank you. I'm getting over my envy and just letting myself enjoy. ;)

Nice work but I believe seeking inner peace and working for a better world aren't mutually exclusive. Beginning within is really the only way to change this external world. It begins within.

I responded in the other thread (though I think my poetic response did the same).

Incredible poem Eric! Really appreciate you sharing.

I found this one to be especially vivid. Could literally picture each line.

Keep it up my friend.

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I have many more!

It was very pleasant to read, I really liked it...COOL
I hope your day is ok :)

@foxkoit

Thank you @foxkoit! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

you are welcome :))

Meditation was one of the tools I used to pull myself out of depression earlier this year. I try not to go more than 24 hours without at least a ten-minute sesh.

Great poem, @ericvancewalton.

Thank you! I'm glad it worked for you. It saved me too, @lukeofkondor! I was so bad I could barely leave the house in my early twenties. I've been practicing for 20+ years now and also teach. I feel like meditation could save humanity if everyone practiced.

Excellent as always Eric. Keep it up!

Well created poem.

Feel the stillness and serenity when you read this poem. Be at peace.

Namaste.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59020.94
ETH 2603.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44