IMPROMPTU HAIKU 4 (Reader Participation Encouraged + Book Giveaway)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Please join me in this evening's Impromptu Haiku. Most of us have attempted writing haiku in school merely because we were forced to.

As a writer, no matter what genre you specialize in, I’ve discovered that the act of writing haiku is a highly effective way to keep your skill-set sharp. Creating haiku regularly totally crushes the effects of writer’s block by opening up new channels of creativity.



Incase you've never heard the term haiku or have been out of school for a very long time (like I have) and the memories are hazy...the definition of Haiku is as follows:

Haiku is a very short form of Japanese poetry. Traditional haiku consist of 17 total syllables, in three lines of 5, 7, and 5 syllables respectively.

This post is meant be highly interactive. I encourage you to write your own haiku in the comments below (first line should be 5 syllables, second line 7 syllables, third line 5 syllables)

Here’s mine:

Deep grief is a pearl,

it lingers long to teach us,

what words never can.

Now try yours in the comments below!

(image from VectorHQ)


One participant will be chosen at random to receive a free autographed copy of my book on writing, One Word At A Time, Finding Your Way as an Indie Author. Included in this book are over twenty years of lessons I’ve learned as a writer (most of them, the hard way). I’m happy to be able to share it with you.

Please visit my website to sign up for my author newsletter. My newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates on new book releases and other special offers.

Sort:  

Another haiku...
To terrorize with my wrath!
Trogdor strikes again!

Thanks for coming back!

torrent in the stream
firewood is split and stacked
summer is over

VERY nice one, @lackshmi. I could see the firewood and feel the air's crispness.

Images no show!
None can look at me, oh no!
Off-site links still blow!

A cool sunny day,
rocky hiking trail ahead
brings joy to my soul.

Nice, @mstang83! I'm a huge fan of hiking.

Thanks! Me too. Just returned home from a trip and still had the trail on my mind I guess.

Wonderful idea. And nice poem, I think pearl is one of those words that run down the middle of the fine lines between a one syllable and two syllable word. Pearl or Pear-l. Tricky stuff depending on how you pronounce and see it. But definitely agree that the darkest moments that trigger such grief help us to become wiser in every step of life from those certain unseen pitfalls and barbed wire trenches.

Journey Without Maps
Discover Your Hidden Self
Learn Your Soul's Purpose

Thanks, @verbal-d. I had no idea that "pearl" could be pronounced with two syllables. As always, I appreciate your thoughtful comment! Love the haiku! So true, you must float down this river of life learning as you go.

It is all right there
Our family history
Written in the stars

Very deep! Nicely done @prufarchy!

Thanks eric! This impromptu haiku series is great for creativity :)

I'm glad you're enjoying it!

Here's mine:
Do not weep for me
For I am the wind and sun
Visiting daily

Tick tock, time crunches-
Sensational as always,
Blow up your chances!

(crunches or passes, not sure which to use)

I have been searching
My love I am here for now
patient in silence

Lunch, a metaphor
devouring my daily bread
give thanks for living

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45