The Dragon Roar (my re-introduction as the vocalist artist)

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Yes, this post ends with a short mic test clip from me.

Cheesy title, I know, get over it.

I am a vocalist, and have been singing for years, though I haven't been very actively involved with my singing as much in the last several years (not as far as paid work, anyway). I still improve on my vocal range all the time, since I am constantly singing around the house or in my vehicle to and from wherever I go. I can't be the only one who obnoxiously jams out every. damn. time.

Some already know I am the narrator of @larkenrose's huge project The Mirror, and while I think the project may take another year or more, I believe it will be a seriously world-altering thing, so I advise checking out the trailer here--where you'll hear me narratng.

I've done vocal work on the side for others, such as narrating the 2016 Anarchapulco promo video (here) for @dollarvigilante.

I have no ego about voice work for just about anything, so when I was asked by a cool YouTuber known as The Infinite Source to voice silly rap-battle lines for female movie/video-game/comic book characters, I obliged, and had a blast doing a couple videos for him. He wrote all the rap lines, I just showed up to do the recording for him, and pack a female punch behind these videos for his teen/young-adult audience. I rapped as Princess Zelda, and as Elsa the Ice Queen from the movie Frozen.

If you want to have a good laugh at some goofy shit, check out Elsa here, and Zelda here.

I truly want to do more vocal work, of all kinds, and I have a decent mic at home so I can do work for people over the web without needing to necessarily present in person.

Since Steemit is a great way to get our other talents known, I would like to see your genuine support by upvote if you think I deserve more exposure, and if you want to see me find more vocal work through exposing my skill to the community! I would rather do this intro here than publicly on YouTube, because Steemit is far more in alignment with my values and I love the kinds of people I have interacted with here quite a bit more.

~*~


So just for this intro, I did a totally raw, un-prepped, un-doctored 'mic test' singing just the first verse and chorus of White Knuckles, a song by Alter Bridge, my all time favorite band.

I call it a mic test, because I really wasn't sure how good the mic on this macbook would be for singing and capturing my voice well.

Psst -- That's insecure-singer-speak for, GO EASY ON ME, FELLAS 'N' LADIES!

UPVOTE AWAY, AND THANKS FOR LISTENING!

Sort:  

I believe it will be a seriously world-altering thing

Agreed. :)

Great job! Wow. I must say, I'm seriously impressed. I know you're good at voice stuff, but this kind of surprised me. So... when are you going to do American Idol? Can you imagine an anarchist on that show? Hahaha. :)

Keep up the great work.

Thanks so much!!! That seriously makes me feel so good! It's funny how, the talents that are closest to us and make us feel vulnerable, still need praise and encouragement if we're to keep using them. Or rather, that's my experience anyway. It's always scary, but encouragement helps me feel inspired to keep it up.

That's so true! In the programming world we talk about "imposter syndrome" a lot. Many of the most amazing programmers I know are still insecure about their skills because they recognize how much more they still don't understand. We are all insecure, even when we have seriously unique, mad skills. The only solution I've found is to solve problems, add value, and keep learning as I tweeted here.

Lol please appear on American Idol for the kicks xD @dragonanarchist - and you've got a beautiful voice!

Beautiful voice Dragon lady! Keep it up and share your original music when you're ready. That's what I'd like to hear most.

Thanks, Jordan! :) I appreciate that very much. I am working on some original stuff but it involves quietly collaborating with another too. :)

You've got some pipes! Now I'm just thinking about whether I can use your skills in any of my upcoming animated work. I'll be in touch if/when I come up with something that fits :)

Also, I can't wait for The Mirror!

Thanks!!! :) I sincerely appreciate the encouragement.

WOW!!! not only are you smart and plain gorgeous!, You have one hell of a singing voice!!!

Thanks soooo much, Matt! :)

Would you like to write a book? (About what?)

Love thy neighbor as thyself: Do not to others what thou wouldn't not wish be done to thyself: Forgive injuries. Forgive thy enemy, be reconciled to him, give him assistance, invoke God in his behalf.

Impressive! Looking forward to hearing more. :)

I always enjoy your posts. I always gain some inspiration

Beautiful voice Amanda! I loved it! That's not easy at all! Keep up the awesome work. Cheers! :-)

You, my friend, have a wonderful talent. Great job Dragon! Like Jordan, I'd love to hear more of your original work.... and, if I could make a request, a Bon Jovi cover...maybe.."It's My Life" THAT would be cool. UPVOTED!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64168.93
ETH 2768.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72