I think it was Socrates who said, "I drank what?"

in #food6 years ago

I've been pondering the deeper mysteries of the universe lately while shopping for groceries. Specifically, the proliferation of processed foods has me wondering, just what does it mean to be "with" someone or something?

Cases in point: if a frozen strawberry dessert package states that it was "made with real strawberries," what does that mean? If a burrito package states that the burrito inside is "made with real cheese," in what sense is it made with real cheese?

If I am visiting a friend and someone calls me, I might answer and say, "Yeah, I'm over here with _____ watching a movie." My friend and I are in the same room. I am "with" my friend.

After checking out some of these foods -- the burrito in particular -- I have to wonder if this what they mean when they print a "made with" statement on their packaging. If I asked a person on the burrito assembly line, "Was this burrito made with real cheese?"

I expect the answer would be, "Sure, it was made with real cheese. There was some cheese on the sandwich I brought for lunch that day, sitting on the lunch counter in the room."

"I got the cheese from a package that said, 'Made With Real Milk.'"

Sort:  

Hola @doctordrew, upv0t3
Este es un servicio gratuito para nuevos usuarios de steemit, para apoyarlos y motivarlos a seguir generando contenido de valor para la comunidad.
<3 Este es un corazón, o un helado, tu eliges .

: )


N0. R4ND0M:
3421 3398 9349 6038
6236 1404 3822 5116
7809 6499 5624 1147
6140 5215 4757 8188

Congratulations @doctordrew! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @doctordrew! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30