Walking towards the Blue Mosque, a jewel in Istanbul's crown

in #travel7 years ago


The Sultan Ahmet Camii (commonly referred to as the Blue Mosque) is one of the most stunning buildings in the world IMO. I saw it during a week-long trip to the city. Completed in 1616, it's steeped in history which felt palpable when I stepped inside and looked up to the ornate ceiling. I've visited quite a few cathedrals, mosques and temples to gawk at the architecture and found some Istanbul mosques to be some of the most moving places of worship that I've visited.

Istanbul is home to 3,000+ mosques with Sulemaniye Camii in the Fatih area being another favourite of mine for its views of the Bosphorus. The city's public transport is fantastic with trams, buses and ferries covering large portions of the central areas that tourists frequent.

My top tip would be to buy individual Istanbulkart public transport passes for each member of your party on a long trip as transfer fares didn't work correctly for me when using the same card for multiple people. Also, avoid the area super close to the Blue Mosque for food, Sirkeci is a short walk away and home to atleast 2 legendary restaurants (Kasap Osman and Sehzade erzurum cag kebab). Did I mention that Istanbul is my favourite foodie destination in the world? Be prepared for some weight gain if eating your way through the many distinct types of kebab.

For a ton of useful Istanbul travel info, peruse the weekly destination thread, my trip summary posted in the same and a detailed report + photos in this post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67190.56
ETH 2617.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67