Insect macro photography tips - Amateur Photographer

in #dlike6 years ago

share-with-dlike.jpg

Macro photography proves that small is beautiful, and is a wonderful way to reveal the intricacies of insects and bugs. Ross Hoddinott gives his top tips

Little critters have always fascinated me. I’ve been shooting insects since I was 10 years old, using inexpensive close-up filters at first to enable me to achieve frame-filling results. When I was 11, I won BBC’s Countryfile inaugural photography competition with my photograph of two emperor dragonflies. I enjoy capturing the exquisite beauty, intricacy, shape and form of insects. I favour natural light and photograph my subjects in situ in the wild to cause minimum disturbance. I authored the book Digital Macro and Close-up Photography and have won awards in competitions such as Wildlife Photographer of the Year, British Wildlife Photography Awards and International Garden Photographer of the Year with my close-ups of insects.


Source of shared Link

Sort:  

Great post, I really enjoy macro photography. Opened up a whole new world to me.

Amazing photograph! I couldnt take a picture like that on my old smartphone lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65803.15
ETH 2665.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86