We Steem Powered someone from the Streets to a Home

in #success8 years ago

Intro
@creationlayer here. Well this all started as an experiment, taking a homeless guy and giving him some steem power for his engine. I didn't really know Brook, he was a guy with a sign asking for a dollar. I gave him a dollar. Today he offered me a hundred, I honestly held it for a second, but said hey get me a coffee, and I've 3x'd my dollar. You can look through the previous posts to see the progress. I told his story and you responded. Today I feel like we've succeeded in helping a man, who didn't need help but wanted it. I'm grateful that as I got to know him he had plans, and knew how he could spend the money to get to his goals. Well I'm happy to say he is in the process of acquiring a motor home to live in, and researching a place north of silicon valley where the lot fees are affordable. This is all thanks to steemit. I plan to continue working on updates, and I'm sure what Brook has received will get him a home. Ideally steemit can be his job too but we're not there yet. We're not done yet, and all support helps but I expect in a couple weeks to a month he'll be setup, and the local rates for lot fees on rv's are $1,000 so we're looking at Humboldt county where there might be rates around $200. Any support helps and we will keep the generous supporters updated. 

Today
So I went to the bank (yuck). I had to set one up just for this. I'm a Bitcoin guy, I won't bore you with my gripes. My existing bank simple does not hand you cash. I shaved put on a blazer so they thought I was official. Brook said I looked like some startup guy that has no boss, I laughed, basically true. I requested $4500 he was nice, but said it's above my limit. A manager approved and they counted the 45 $100 bills twice in their machine counter. I headed over to a Starbucks to meet with Brook. I think he still thought I might scam him. I handed him the envelop and he just nodded and we did a bro fist.

We did a little research on RV lots at Starbucks, thanks for the free coffee by the way ;)

We attempted a selfie, I think the light was in his eyes.

Finally getting the cash to haggle for an RV on craigslist meant a lot to Brook, but he has an eye on a near free one that he can fix up. He previously was a mechanic on motorcycles, so he's going thrifty just how I like it, and he said if he had a place of his own he'd get a German Shepard to hangout with.

I asked him to share his thoughts now that he's basically on the verge of not being homeless because of this crazy steemit thing



Note to community about charity   
As a community we should be transparent. If we're going to donate we donate. This for me was an eye opening experience, but I don't know if I'll pursue something bigger. For me it was basically my first real interaction with steemit. I hope more people can come forward and find ways to help others, in honest and fair ways. If I come up with an idea to help a broad group I might consider, but it takes time and hard work to get to know people and find out how you can actually help and not just throw money at the problem. Steemit DOES change lives, but we must be skeptical and demand that those promoting help plan to follow through. I'm no saint, I'm just one who thinks if you start something you should follow through. If this inspires you to help I'm happy for that, and hope you understand throwing money at someone/something is not the solution. You must get to know the situation, work with the people, and become an adviser and student of the cause.  

Transparent Budget  
At first I really didn't know how far this would go or what steemit was. I assumed we would have some success. Well we did so I set Brook up with a hotel room, food, clothes, and a computer. We may have spent too much early, but it all went towards positive things.  
Total Proceeds after conversion: $7090.151 (original SBD amount $8275.159)
Costs
Computer- $647.62
Clothes, deodorant, essentials - $371.41
Gas- $57.59
Groceries (+100 gift card) - $268.37
Hotel- $968.33
remaining balance -
$4776.831

Cash given to Brook: $4500
Remaining balance owed - $276.831 (if I get 1 to 1 conversion on SBD.)  

Conversion details
$5758.008 SBD was converted to 8.06859782 BTC (.93 cents at the time before Bitcoin drop) which I held, I converted my own cash directly from my bank account at current market rate to Brook. Unfortunately everyone was affected by the market, and I don't use bitfinex so that's good.  So with the market decrease it resulted in $4,573, a shame we all took a hit.  The additional 2517.15100000 SBD is on the exchange and not sold due to volatility. I converted this 1 to 1 for Brook and will wait for good SBD price. I am looking at a Bitcoin debit card for the steem power so I can load it remotely as he is moving hours north from me.

Thank You

Sort:  

I voiced my concerns about the way this was initially solicited, but I must admit when the process succeeds it's a great thing! Still think we need to seriously think about the fundraising process on this platform. However, this is one to celebrate. Congratulations on being able to improve a life.!

I am glad he will soon be off the streets. Congrats to @creationlayer for making it happen!

I am looking at a Bitcoin debit card for the steem power so I can load it
remotely as he is moving hours north from me.

take a look here...
http://advcash.com/en/

You are the truth @brookdemar!!! Many more blessing will come your way just wait!!! So inspiring someone should write the script for a movie for this story seriously!!!!! I can help :)

screw movies do it for real for others

You have to be in position to do it for others:) I do the best I can to help others as much in any and every way I can! The movie idea just seems like a great story to be produced.

i don't doubt your ability, rather i say you CAN! and you'd probably get more out of the real life story doing a documentary than a movie.

I'll repeat it: your story @brookdemar and @creationlayer is one of the best success story Steemit has seen! I can't wait for more!

And here I am just using Steemit to post stories and pictures of my potatoes. Well done @brookdemar! you da real MVP!

no everything is good, everyone can be a part of the community (almost everyone). everyone is valid keep doing potatoes

Can't argue with that.

Thank you so much for doing this! I hope you will never be in struggle in life. If yes contact me and I will try to get you out of this.
Wish you best luck mate

that's really nice and I'm really happy that he will be off street
you did a great job
keep up the good work

This is awesome.
STEEMIT
The Human Machine.

Love it!..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61334.44
ETH 2694.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50