The love of a maker

in #art8 years ago (edited)


Periodically in my shop I get custom order sewing requests. People ask for all sorts of things to be made; aprons, wallets, bags, humpty dumpty, scarves, bed linen, patchwork lounge chair, phone pouches and cushions.  Sometimes the request is for one of my designs, made in a particular fabric or with a sight modification to size and style. It is easy when a customer knows the exact design, size and materials. I just have to make it.  

 
Sentimental Design


Occasionally customers give me sentimental fabric (childhood clothes or family heirloom linen) and ask me to incorporate this fabric in a particular design. I love doing this. For example I have turned a favourite pair of denim jeans into a satchel bag or a childhood t-shirt into a cushion. I have even used parts of a grandmothers old broken leather bag to make earrings for the granddaughter. It is a delight to preserved nostalgic pieces for people. To transform it into something new, reimagined for modern use.  

 


Vague Notions


Then there are the requests for something completely new. A Customer that comes to me with nothing more than a vague notion of an idea.   

I love to design, create, experiment and tailor craft. It can be challenging to work without a comprehensive brief but extremely satisfying.   



The challenge is to glean enough information to interpret the customers vision and then use my own initiative to fill in the gaps.



I am known for my colourful patchwork style. Most requests I receive are to incorporate this style into their idea. I work exclusively with reclaimed, vintage and retro fabric, so you are guaranteed an original piece.   


The most popular custom item is homewares such as re-covered foot stools, curtains, cushions and lounge chairs. My patchwork style features an eclectic mix of many different fabrics, all stitched together into a bold harmonious balance of colour and texture.   



Scrappy Patchwork 


Most customers get overwhelmed by too much choice. They get lost if given more than six options. Too much choice is a funny thing. The sort of fabric a customer enjoys, speaks loudly of their overall style. So instead of asking them to pick out the fabrics, I pull out a range of pieces and we talk about what they like and don't like about a particular pattern.   




This particular custom order cushion in the photographs was based on the following fabric brief: chocolate browns, vibrant blue, bold yellow, whimsical prints, no big girly florals, neutral raw natural fibres including coffee/flour sacks, a smidge of retro, with a hint of red, earthy cottage tones mixed with spirited bright beachy vibes.   




This cushion is one in a series of four custom sized cushions I made for Anita to fit two cane white chairs in her home. It features coffee sacks, flour and oat bags, tea-towels, retro linen, whimsical curtain material, woven wool and sweet cotton fabric remnants. The cushion was made from scratch and filled using stuffing from an old crescent pillow that Anita had. I finished the final cushion today and love the end result.  




While sewing and spending time choosing the right fabrics for Anita, I thought about how this cushion is destined for a new life. Each piece of fabric I selected will be part of a new home. I get quite attached to the various prints and weaves that come into my textile studio. I feel pride in my work and appreciate every step in the process. But a customer attaches their own nostalgia and sentiment to my creations. It means something different to the new owner then it does to me.


But that is okay, beautiful even.

   
Until next time
 xx Isabella

P.S Here is another two of the cushions in this series. 



 
 
 
 

Sort:  

Wow I think this is really nice quality work. Not only the photos but the sewing as well.

thats awesome content thank you for sharing :) i followed you ..perhaps u look at my blog and u find some graffiti that u like! <3 kalipo

Beautiful job!

I love your work. I think it's more beautiful when many different prints are well mixed. Nice posting! vote with smile~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57034.02
ETH 3084.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41