From Glazier To Glass Artistry - fusing passion with experience

in #art8 years ago (edited)

 
Today I visited the cutest glass studio nestled in a pretty valley, just up the road from my shop in the Granite Belt region of Australia. 

Prior to opening his dream studio, Brian spent the last 30 years working as a glazier in the city. One day on a whim he purchased a plane ticket to Japan to take a much over due holiday. He loved the place so much that he flew home, packed up his life and moved to Japan to live. Brian comes from a family of glaziers, his grandfather was a lead lighter and glazier in England, and his father and brother also glaziers. Brian had spent most of his life working with the practicality of glass.  Japan lit a spark in him, a yearning for something more creative. So upon returning to Australia he left the city life, bought a property in the country, and opened Glass Shokunin Studio.   



I first met Brian earlier this year when he popped into my Recycled Gallery Shop. His glass studio is only a few miles away up the highway. I was taken by his story and the bold move he made from owning his own successful glazier company to striking out on his own yet again. The difference is this time he is following his passion for colourful glass artistry.   


With years of experience working with plain functional glass, Brian now works exclusively making gorgeous divine glass art – vessels, sculptures, jewellery, garden art and accessories. His pieces focus mainly on glass fusing and flame work using all colours of the rainbow.

What I loved the most about Glass Shokunin Studio is all the little sculptural pieces of glass that hang in the bush or mounted on logs as you meander down the driveway to the studio. His property is immaculately tiny, and everywhere you look glass seems to feature in the sweetest of ways.   


Brian's wife took a basket making course on their recent visit back to Japan and is now adding her exquisite woven baskets to the studio.


Originally Brian bought his rural property to be a weekend escape from city life. But he fell in love with the pace of country life  Despite leaving a steady income to live the ups and downs as an artist, Brian has never looked back.   

I applaud his courage, love his art and hope you enjoy this little sneek peek into his studio and this wonderful pocket of the world I live in.   

Until next time,

xx Isabella


 
 

Sort:  

Beautiful photos thank you.

You are most welcome @moneymaker.

Also mix colors are compatible ?

He certainly has a bold use of colour.

Absolutely beautiful. Its hard to see how you can have the vision to fuse the different pieces of glass into a great piece of art.

It was very pleasant to read, I really liked it :)
I hope your day is ok :)

@foxkoit

My day was indeed ok. Some parts wonderful and others a little tedious. And it rained which we need!!

Here it rains almost every day, But sometimes, fortunately, has also seen the sun :))

I love the colours and the prices are reasonable, I went to a studio a couple of years ago, here in the UK and even thou their stuff was cool (pardon the pun) they were really expensive.

I thought so too. Although I do think on a whole artisans in Australia under value their work.

very nicely written. Love it @bridgetbunchy

I think that this is the life purpose, do what we love to do. Maybe we don,t be rich or very famous, but we Will be happy!

Isn't it just. And I love to find people that are doing what they love. Keeps me motivated.

I have a friend who is into glass blowing and he's made some marvelous marbles with starbursts in them, it's quite the amazing hobby. Love it, many thanks!

Indeed. Glass is so beautiful. It was just a shame it was rainy today as the studio would have looked even more magical in the sunshine.

What beautiful colours. Such an inspirational story too! You have done a great job of capturing the essence of his studio too.

Wow. I never realised people were doing such amazing works of art with glass. I thought it was something confined to the past. I think we have a glass centre near here - have never visited but I'm assuming they might do similar stuff there too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59010.30
ETH 2515.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45