Phnom Penh Cambodian Style Fried Chicken Wings

in #food7 years ago

IAM_8111w-2.jpg

IAM_8098.jpg

There’s a restaurant in Vancouver that’s known for its fried chicken wings. It’s a hole in the wall kinda joint in Chinatown, where you have to line up for hours, usually in the rain, for your hit of chicken wing crack. When I’m in Vancouver, you’ll find me there most rainy nights. I’m not quick sure what makes their wings so addictive, but I’m pretty sure it’s a mix of MSG and sugar.

IAM_8101.jpg

I skipped out on the powdered MSG, only because I don’t have any on hand – I don’t have anything against it at all, in fact, I have fond memories of my mom using it when we were little, before MSG got a bad rep. Instead of MSG, to amp up the umami flavor, I turned to one of my other favorite flavors, fish sauce. A quick fish sauce and sugar marinade, rice flour for a light and crispy coating, and lime with salt and pepper for dips and you’ve got fried chicken wings that I could eat all day, every day.

IAM_8119.jpg
![IAM_8111w-2.jpg]
Seriously guys, this fried chicken is magic. It manages to be light (for fried chicken) and the sugar just adds that extra bit of interest. I know what you’re thinking, sugar on chicken?! But trust me, you want this chicken. I want this chicken!
()

Seriously guys, this fried chicken is magic. It manages to be light (for fried chicken) and the sugar just adds that extra bit of interest. I know what you’re thinking, sugar on chicken?! But trust me, you want this chicken. I want this chicken!

Seriously guys, this fried chicken is magic. It manages to be light (for fried chicken) and the sugar just adds that extra bit of interest. I know what you’re thinking, sugar on chicken?! But trust me, you want this chicken. I want this chicken!

Sort:  

Congratulations @avi007! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63277.26
ETH 2570.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82