#6: Reflections at Bukit Chandu at Kent Ridge Park [Part 5] (Exploring my own country with Afiqsejuk!)

in #travel6 years ago

divider-1024.png

Welcome back, readers! I came back to Kent Ridge Park after an unfortunate incident happening to me last time. The thirst killer I should say. This time, I took another entrance to the park at Pasir Panjang MRT of Circle Line along Pepys Road. I will be exploring the place called “Reflections at Bukit Chandu”.



Boy, I had a hard time reaching the place dragging my body forward along a steep winding road towards my destination. I was drenched with sweat by the time I arrived there. I took a shot of this signage below.


Pasir Panjang Historic District


The concept to develop a historic district in western Singapore, focusing on WWII battlefield events was mooted in 2001. The district comprises 3 key sites within a radius of 2km: Reflections at Bukit Chandu (31k Pepys Road), Labrador Park (a historic park on coastal defence), and Kent Ridge Park (the last battlefield). Together with other WWII sites such as Fort Siloso at Sentosa and The Battle Box at Fort Canning, they keep alive the memory of an important chapter in Singapore’s modern history.

I never go to Fort Siloso and The Battle Box but I had explored Labrador Park. There are a lot of places to explore and share with all of you. Let’s move on.

The Historical Link


Soon after Stamford Raffles established Singapore as a trading post for the East India Company, one of his first concerns was the defence against the Dutch attacks. By mid-19th century, Raffles’ plan for a series of artillery forts was belatedly realized by the construction of gun batteries stretching from Katong on the east coast to Fort Canning.

Pasir Panjang Ridge (today’s Kent Ridge) overlooks the New Harbour (later renamed Keppel Harbour) that was developed in the second half of the 19th century. A new series of artillery forts were constructed on both sides of the harbor to defend it. Pulau Blakang Mati (today’s Sentosa) and Pulau Brani, and more on the coast opposite at Labrador and Mount Faber. The perception of a seaward threat to the harbor carried over into the 20th century when Japan emerged as the greatest threat. This resulted in the modernization of coastal guns in the 1920s and 1930s.

By 1941, British commanders calculated that a Japanese attack was more likely to come from the Malay Peninsula, which indeed happened. It was in the vicinity of 31K Pepys Road that the last major battle for Singapore was fought. Supported by the guns of Labrador and Siloso, which had turned from facing seawards to fire inland, soldiers of the 1st and 2nd Battalion Malay Regiment defended the west coast and Pasir Panjang area from 10th to 14th February 1942. The British surrendered Singapore to the Japanese the next day.

The Malay Regiment

60 years later, 31K Pepys Road at Bukit Chandu, the last surviving colonial bungalow, was developed into a WWII Interpretative Centre to commemorate the sacrifice, gallantry, and heroism of these men. “Bukit Chandu” is the Malay name for Opium Hill, probably named after a British owned opium packing plant established in 1910.





As I am reading and understanding the history of Bukit Chandu, I must say that I am very proud of my race because the Malay Regiment were not cowards and fought till the end to protect their country land . I remembered the video in Youtube which showed the battle between Lieutenant Adnan and the Japanese. In the next part, we will explore the topic of water during those times. Signing off! Sejuk!

divider-1024.png

Sort:  

Great post :) thanks for sharing

The last time i was here was for a primary school excursion i think!

I recalled that I never even visited this place as a primary school student lols.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.59
ETH 3132.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44