November ProgBlog #2

in #aer5 years ago

I progressed!

Zara has been turned into a paint object and I really should have done her nails first but I got excited and launched straight into tattoos. They ended up looking slightly different from my reference pic (where everything was pretty much guesswork anyway).

The wraparound dragon turned out to be a bit more confusing than I anticipated. I already had mad respect for tattoo artists but it just went up several thousand notches. They don't have undo x_x I also had to make another reference.

It was both too short and facing the wrong way, but helped enough as I mostly needed it to try to work out the leg spacing anyway.

I'm now trying to do scales with this brush that looks like it should do the job, though I need to work upwards so it's really hard to see anything when the scales are this minute. There's some hair texture brushes that I'll need to also work out (because painting textures in 3d is slightly different to 2d XD) for the feathers on the phoenix and the froof magnificent and mighty mane on the dragon.

Meanwhile she's still grey as I'm trying out only using maps for stuff like scars, tattoos and whatever other details (displacement etc) and using my skin shader for the skin colour. I'm hoping it will look better so I can do likewise with Za'haran, and that way the texture setup will be a little bit more modular. Hopefully the effort saved there will be worth the render time (the procedurals take slightly longer to calculate than uv mapping) but even though I'll think that when setting up characters I probably won't when I have to render XD

This post also appears on my blog.

Want a crowd character? If you interact frequently with me here (either on my posts or your posts or better yet both!) or on one of the linked Discord channels, all you have to do is let me know and tell me what you'd like :) It can be one of your characters (including ones you make up on the spot for this XD) or a self insert. There's a bunch of different human types to choose from, and pets/other animals are also welcome.

Thanks for looking! ^_^

Come hang out on Discord with us!

#teamaustralia on PAL | ANZ | Be Awesome | steemartists

sig

-={ commission info | ko-fi | patreon }=-

The steemaroo divider is free to use. Ask me nicely if you want an upgoat/cute critter footer.

Sort:  

Looks amazing Ry! I dont know how you do it! #skillz!

Same way you do your orgonites but with different kinda skillset? :D (seriously I couldn't do half the stuff you do I'd break something XD)

Thanks ^_^

Posted using Steeve

I do that with wraparounds when I was doing as well haha! It's quite hard to think in 3 dimensions ironically, considering we are 3 dimensional creatures. I'm glad at least one of us made progress, MATEr'd! Life and work has got me stumped, I've been falling behind on everything.

The shape wasn't too far off in the end :D The colours were though XD Also the problem I had drawing it on the 3d model was the same as on the 2d pics, after so many loops I was like "which way is this big going?" x_x so when I drew my line guides in I drew arrows pointing towards the head all the way down so I don't accidentally draw the legs on backwards like I did with my reference pic XD

I'm getting there through sheer bloody minded DETERMINATION. I feel you matey, though I've been behind on everything for years and I doubt I will ever catch up XD

Creativity plus oozing out of you @ryivhnn.

I need more time so it can CASCADE rather than ooze ;D

maybe it's better this way so it's not too much for everyone else XD

This is really sweet!

Thanks :D I'm slightly flustered and pretty stoked with that coming from you XD

Nice progress, ryry <3 Dragon and Phoenix are really very classical pair from the Chinese ancient times :)

Thanks :D Yay I'm glad they're recognisable XD Their her adopted father's tattoos so they'll be popping up again :)

Oh hoho... so your comment level....
                       
IT IS OVER 9000!!!! *breaks visor
                     
This 3d tattooing is more complicated than I thought. But I enjoyed reading this because I learn something new also. Good luck with the rest of her :).

LoL! Yeh my post:comment ratio is horribly skewed but I still can't keep up with spodey, all those extra legs obviously helps XD

It was more complicated than I thought too D: who would have thought you'd have to take the body shape into account lol XD

Thanks :) I spent the last two days experimenting with using some of the brushes to detail the things but I suspect I'm going to be hand painting them. I wanted moving shadows on the tats (because in the time they live in they can have animated tattoos) but that would require either having depth on the actual tat (I'm not sure how I felt about it being so bumpy) or animating it (I'm too lazy! XD). Will have to see how I go but I think for these ones it will be subtle enough that if I ever get around to it I can introduce it later.

Hopefully we won't meet the Opium Queen for a long, long time, they have full body animated tats which I don't actually know how to do! x_x

Posted using Steeve

3D Modelling is a world I briefly dabbled in. I guess never having a machine with enough grunt kept me away. There's so many facets to it these days.

Yeh it seems to be getting harder and harder to be a generalist these days. There are plenty that manage it somehow. When I was thinking about working in the industry the last bit of advice I'd heard was that while being a generalist was useful and awesome (because then you could slot in where you were needed) it was usually better to be particularly amazing at a couple of things. I don't know what the conventional wisdom is these days though.

And yeh I've been finding my machines have slowly been increasing in grunt and expense as time goes by x_x it's gotten to a stage where I've had to trade in my beloved Macs for linux boxes just to be able to afford the specs I think I want need.

Wraparound dragon tatts?! I want! This is exciting. Make sure you share the finished product! :)

I thought I replied to this but evidently not? o_O

Anyway it wasn't terribly important, just said that I definitely would eventually XD

Posted using Steeve

Congratulations @ryivhnn! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 9000 comments. Your next target is to reach 9500 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ryivhnn! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 6250 replies. Your next target is to reach 6500 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34