April ProgBlog #2: tis the season?

in #aer5 years ago

So, not long ago in the grand scheme I found out one of my friends has breast cancer. There is another skinhead mohawk pending once I get a moment. More recently my grandmother died. It's sad but she was just shy of 100 so it wasn't unexpected. Tomorrow I'm on a plane to Melbourne, and will be home on Saturday. This is mostly heads up that there may or may not be a progblog next weekend depending on how I'm feeling.

Progress-wise, well. With the scales I was really going out of my way to avoid drawing them. I figured once I got the hang of the scale brush everything would be sweet. Well I decided eventually that I would just see what drawing them would look like.

Ended up being a lot quicker than trying to wrangle the scale brush. Of course it did. I sometimes have to go over rows because I struggle to keep them consistently sized and straight, but it's getting there a lot faster than it was before.

This is probably about as close a shot as any given tattoo is going to get at this stage (as nowhere in the script does it specifically call for a tattoo closeup but it's quite likely that when I get around to proper storyboarding/animating I will ignore the direction notes in my script and do whatever the hell I feel like at the time).

Anyway once I'm done with the outlines I'll fade them out like the other outlines and go over with gloss and colours. Painting light straight up is going to feel weird initially as I normally paint shadow first, whereas here I'm not going to be painting shadow at all, literally just where I want light to hit most. But at least it's moving again.

This post also appears on my blog and Patreon.

Want a crowd character? If you interact frequently with me here (either on my posts or your posts or better yet both!) or on one of the linked Discord channels, all you have to do is let me know and tell me what you'd like :) It can be one of your characters (including ones you make up on the spot for this XD) or a self insert. There's a bunch of different human types to choose from, and pets/other animals are also welcome.

Thanks for looking! ^_^

Come hang out on Discord with us!

#teamaustralia on PAL | ANZ | Be Awesome | steemartists

sig

-={ commission info | ko-fi | patreon }=-

The steemaroo divider is free to use. Ask me nicely if you want an upgoat/cute critter footer.

Sort:  

gently hugs My condolences Reeree
And I wish for all the best for your friend and their gofundme

Have a safe flight! Also model's looking nice~

Thanks @thilah. I'm hoping my next skinhead mohawk post will be enough to send her a small donation from us here at steem. With some luck the flight won't be as bouncy as the last couple of times I went to Melbourne but I'm expecting the same as I'm going out at a similar time again :)

Congratulations @ryivhnn! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 8000 replies. Your next target is to reach 8250 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62726.25
ETH 3050.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81